News Karnataka
Tuesday, October 19 2021


Adithya Kannan installed as the President of NITK Toastmasters Club



“Good teams become great teams when the members trust each other enough to surrender the Me for the We.”

– Phil Jackson

NITK Toastmasters Club embodies Phil Jackson’s words. It is a great team in which all members move forward together to accomplish one goal after another.

On July 17, the club reached another milestone, the successful completion of its fourth executive term. On this day, the installation of the new executive committee of NITK Toastmasters Club for the term 2021-22 was held online, themed “A Slice Of Us”.

The meeting began with the emcee Toastmaster Rakshith N informing the audience that the club, just like a pizza, has a base which represents the experience gained over four years since its inception. The sauce on the pizza represents the guidance and support received by the club. Individual characteristics of the club’s members, such as leadership, teamwork and determination are symbolised by the toppings on the pizza. With that, you have a wholesome, healthy pizza!

 Emcee Toastmaster Rakshith N

The installation ceremony was attended by various distinguished guests and leaders from the District, Division and Area, including the Club Growth Director DTM Arjun Raj, and the Program Quality Director, Distinguished TM Narayanan M., The meeting began with a prayer by Toastmaster Rashmi, invoking the blessings of God.

This was followed by the annual report of the term from January 2020 to July 2021 by the outgoing Secretary, Toastmaster Pranav Krishna, extolling the club’s myriad achievements during this period.

Outgoing Secretary, Toastmaster Pranav Krishna

The outgoing President, Toastmaster Supritha Harishankar expounded upon the difficulties faced by the club during the past year with the pandemic and lockdown and how they were overcome by her team and the members with their zeal and enthusiasm. Toastmaster Sahil Akhtar captivated the audience with his story-telling skills, narrating an inspiring story about finding the purpose of life.



Outgoing President, Toastmaster Supritha Harishankar



Toastmaster Sahil Akhtar

The emcee, Toastmaster Rakshith N, then introduced the incoming office bearers to the audience.

The officers for the year 2021-2022 are Adithya Kannan (President), Sahana Bhandari (Vice President Education), Riya Shah (Vice President Membership), Adithi Upadhya (Vice President Public Relations), Malcolm Fernandes (Associate Vice President Public Relations), Kriti Shukla (Secretary), Mihir Ketkar (Treasurer), Karan Dhinakaran (Sergeant at arms) and Supritha Harishankar (Immediate Past President). 


TM Daryl Rodricks

The Area F2 Director Toastmaster Daryl Rodricks narrated an inspiring story about a cracked pot with the uplifting message that everyone has their own unique flaws that make each of us interesting and sometimes turns out to be a blessing in disguise. With his message, he encouraged the audience to be proud of who they are. He congratulated the club on its accomplishments and proceeded to install the new executive committee after discharging the previous term’s office bearers of their duties. 


The new team of office-bearers

The Chief Guest for the ceremony, DTM Viju Kothanath regaled the audience with his exhilarating stories about cross-country running, never giving up, and following your dreams no matter what your age is.



Chief Guest: DTM Viju Kothanath

The faculty advisor for the club, Dr Dhishna Pannikot commended the club’s growth since its inception and thanked the Director and Dean Students’ Welfare of NITK for their invaluable support.



Faculty advisor: Dr Dhishna Pannikot

The Program Quality Director of District 121, DTM Narayanan M applauded the club’s success and advised the members to make use of the opportunities that the club offers and fulfil their potential. 


Program Quality Director of District 121, DTM Narayanan M

The President of NITK Toastmasters Club, Toastmaster Adithya Kannan, spoke about his Toastmasters journey and how it has helped him become the person he is today. He expressed the desire to help each and every member of Toastmasters grow and to provide a supportive environment for the same. 


President, Toastmaster Adithya Kannan

Toastmaster Kartik introduced the Division F Director TM Beena Shetty, who lauded the club and referred to the club meetings she attended as “fresh, juicy, spicy and tasty”. She congratulated the outgoing executive committee members for their accomplishments and offered her support to the incoming executive committee members.

Area F1 Director Toastmaster Shalini Prabhu wished the club the very best for the upcoming year and expressed confidence that no challenge would be too big for them to overcome. VPM of Mangalore TMC, Toastmaster Shobha praised the club for their creativity and enthusiasm in conducting various activities in the online mode and wished them luck for the year ahead.




At the end of the felicitations, Toastmaster Kriti Shukla delivered the vote of thanks, expressing gratitude to all who had graced the installation ceremony with their presence.

The ceremony ended with a stunning group photo.

Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe Newsletter

Get latest news karnataka updates on your email.

error: Content is protected !!