News Karnataka
Saturday, December 09 2023

Bihar polls: Phase II voting begins in six Naxal-hit districts

Photo Credit :

Patna: Amid tight security cover, polling began this morning in the second phase of the Bihar Assembly elections, spanning 32 constituencies spread over six Naxal-hit districts.

BIHAR1Voting began at 7 AM in all the seats and in view of the security threat, the voting time has been curtailed by one to two hours in as many as 23 constituencies.

Of all the phases, the second phase posed the greatest challenge to security personnel as all six districts – Kaimur, Rohtas, Arwal, Jehanabad, Aurangabad and Gaya – have been affected by Naxal violence one time or the other.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshamanan said while voting starting at 7 AM in all 32 constituencies would end at 3 PM in 11 seats, and at 4 PM in 12 others. Only 9 seats would have scheduled voting from 7 AM to 5 PM.

A total of 86,13,870 electors are expected to decide the fate of 456 candidates, 32 out of whom are women. There are 9,119 polling stations.

A total of 993 companies of Central paramilitary forces and state police have been deployed to ensure peaceful voting. Drones and five helicopter/UAV would keep surveillance to ward off any untoward incidents.

For faster movement of security personnel and avoid greater casualties in the event of Naxal attacks, the security forces have decided to use motorbikes in large numbers. A total of 719 bikes would be in service for today’s polling.

While the contest in all the seats is intense, the battle at Imamganj (reserved SC seat) would be keenly watched, where former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi of Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) is locked in a straight contest with the Speaker of the outgoing Assembly Uday Narain Chaudhary of JD (U).

Chaudhary is a five-term MLA from the constituency. Manjhi is trying his luck from Makhdumpur seat in Jehanabad too.

Senior BJP leader and former minister Prem Kumar (Gaya Town), former state unit chief of the saffron party Gopal Narayan Singh (Nabinagar) and state minister Jay Kumar Singh (Dinara) are among prominent names in this phase.

The stakes are high for the anti-BJP alliance in this phase as most of the 32 seats had gone to the JD(U) in the last elections.

In 2010, the JD(U) had won 19 seats followed by BJP 10, RJD 2 and Independent 1. This time the JD(U) and the RJD are contesting 13 seats each, while Congress has its candidates in six seats.

Half of the seats in this phase are being contested by BJP’s allies in the NDA – LJP (Lok Janshakti Party), HAM and RLSP (Rashtriya Lok Samata Party).

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp