News Karnataka
Wednesday, November 30 2022

Controversial CAB to be tabled in Upper House today

Photo Credit :

New Delhi: The controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Bill also known as the CAB will be tabled in Rajya Sabha Wednesday afternoon at about 2 pm. The legislation was passed by the Lok Sabha around Tuesday midnight, following a heated debate.

The Bharatiya Janata Party is confident of getting the Bill passed in Upper House as well and from an outset, the BJP seems to have the support it needs to pass the Bill.

The BJP has 83 MPs in the Rajya Sabha and NDA partners constitute to 108, which includes All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or AIADMK (11), Lok Janshakti Party or LJP (1), Republican Party of India (Athawale) or RPI(A) (1), Shiromani Akali Dal or SAD (3), JD(U) (6), Asom Gana Parishad or AGP (1), Bodoland People’s Front or BPF (1), and Paattali Makkal Katchi or PMK (1) — take the total number to 108.

Among non-NDA members which supported the Bill in the Lok Sabha are Biju Janata Dal or BJD (7), Shiv Sena (3), YSR Congress Party or YSRCP (2), and Telugu Desam Party or TDP (2). Additionally, four of the six Independent MPs and three of the four nominated MPs are likely to support the Bill, which takes the number of those in favour of the bill, on paper, to 129.

With 121 votes needed to pass the Bill in the house, which has an effective strength of 240, the BJP seems to have the support it needs. However, if the allies decide to change their path, then the BJP may face serious hurdles in passing the Bill, which has been viewed as a controversial one mainly because it discriminated on the basis of religion. The Bill speaks about non-Muslim refugees who are eligible to get Indian Citizenship if being faced with religious brutality in Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

As per the Bill, any person belonging to the Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi or Christian faith from Afghanistan, Bangladesh or Pakistan will not be considered an illegal immigrant if the person entered into India on or before December 31, 2014.

Likewise, 105 MPs are most likely to oppose the bill. They are Congress (46), Trinamool Congress or TMC (13), Bahujan Samaj Party or BSP (4), Communist Part of India or CPI (1), Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI-M (5), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or DMK (5), Indian Union Muslim League or IUML (1), Peoples Democratic Party or PDP (2), Kerala Congress (1), Samajwadi Party or SP (9), Telangana Rashtra Samithi or TRS (6), Nationalist Congress Party or NCP (4), Rashtriya Janata Dal or RJD (4), Aam Aadmi Party or AAP (3) and Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or MDMK (1).

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp