News Karnataka
Sunday, February 05 2023

Election for next President on July 18, result on July 21

Photo Credit : IANS

New Delhi: Election for next President of India will be held on July 18 and counting of votes will take place on July 21. The Election Commission of India on Thursday June 9 announced the schedule for the election for the President of India.

Announcing the poll schedule, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said that the term of President Ram Nath Kovind is coming to end on July 24.

As per the poll schedule, notification for the President election will be issued on June 15 and the last day of filing nomination will be June 29.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on June 30 and last day of withdrawal of nomination papers will be July 2.

Polling, if required, will be held on July 18 and counting will take place on July 21.

Secretary General, Rajya Sabha will be the Returning Officer for this election.

The President of India is elected by members of the Electoral College consisting of elected Members of Parliament and that of all the state assemblies including National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry. Nominated members of Parliament, state assembly and members of legislative council are not eligible to vote.

Total 776 Members of Parliament and 4,033 MLAs will vote in the Presidential elections. Total value of votes is 10,86,431. Value of votes of MLAs is 5,43,231 and MPs are 5,43,200.

The Presidential elections in 2017 were held on July 17 and the result was announced on July 20.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp
Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp