News Karnataka
Tuesday, December 06 2022

Goa pro-tem Speaker administers oath to 39 MLAs

Photo Credit :

Panaji: Pro-tem Speaker of Goa Assembly Ganesh Gaonkar on Tuesday March 15 presided over the oath-taking ceremony of 39 MLAs of the newly elected state Legislative Assembly.

Gaonkar, a two-term BJP MLA from the Sanvordem Assembly constituency, was appointed and administered oath as a pro-tem Speaker by Governor P.S. Sreedharan Pillai on Monday.

The BJP has 20 MLAs in the 40-member Assembly, with just one short of a simple majority. The party, however, has received letters of unconditional support by three independent MLAs and the two-member Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party.

The Congress managed to win just 10 seats.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp