News Karnataka
Saturday, June 03 2023

Bypolls in lone Mizoram Assembly seat begins

Civic body bypolls in Belagavi Hubballi Dharwad Kalaburagi to be held on Sept 3 9
Photo Credit :

Aizawl: Voting for the bypoll to the Tuirial Assembly constituency in Kolasib District bordering Assam began on the morning of Saturday October 30 amid heavy security and following requisite Covid-19 protocols, officials said.

Mizoram’s Joint Chief Electoral Officer, David L. Pachuau said 18,582 voters, including 9,095 women are eligible to exercise their vote to decide the electorate fortunes of four candidates.

The ruling Mizo National Front has fielded K. Laldawngliana while Laltlanmawia of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), Chalrosanga Ralte of the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party’s K. Laldinthara are also in the electoral fray.

The by-election was necessitated following the death of sitting Legislator, Andrew H. Thangliana of the ZPM. The counting of votes in all seats will take place on November 2.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp