News Karnataka
Saturday, March 25 2023

Second phase of Assembly election begins in 20 seats of Jharkhand

Photo Credit :

Jamshedpur: The second phase of the assembly polls in Jharkhand is being held today, December 7. As many as 20 seats are witnessing polling today.

Key contestant is Chief Minister Raghubar Das, who is contesting from Jamshedpur East on BJP ticket. He is taking on former cabinet colleague Saryu Rai and Congress spokesperson Gaurabh Vallabh in Jamshedpur East. Besides the Chief Minister, Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Dinesh Oraon, Urban Development Minister Neelkanth Singh Munda, Water Resources Minister Ramchandra Sahis, former cabinet minister Saryu Rai and state BJP president Laxman Giluwa are also contesting the polls.  

The polling started at 7 am and will be held till 3 pm in 18 seats while two seats – East Jamshedpur and West Jamshedpur – will go to the polls from 7 am to 5 pm. Of the 20 seats, 16 are reserved for Schedule Tribe (ST) and one for Schedule Caste (SC) and the BJP is contesting in 20 seats.The opposition alliance of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and the Congress is contesting in 14 and six seats respectively.

Out of a total of 6,066 polling stations, 949 have been declared ”critical” and 762 ‘sensitive” in Maoist-affected areas, Jharkhand Chief Electoral Officer Vinay Kumar Choubey said. “Several of the constituencies going for this phase of polling are Maoist-affected. So, armed police have been deployed as a part of security measures,” he said. 

In Jharkhand, the BJP is seeking a second term under the leadership of Chief Minister Raghubar Das. The first phase of polling was held last Saturday. This is the fourth assembly elections in Jharkhand after its formation in 2000. Jharkhand, which has an 81-member assembly, is voting in five phases till December 20. Counting of votes will take place on December 23.


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp