News Karnataka
Thursday, July 07 2022

Hectic preparations ahead of by-polls in Tripura - 2 min read

Photo Credit :

Agartala: A day after the Election Commission announced by-elections for four Assembly seats in Tripura on June 23, all political parties started the process to select candidates and to finalise their electoral strategies.

According to political pundits, the by-elections in Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma, and Jubarajnagar assembly constituencies are expected to be a multi-cornered contest between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), opposition CPI-M-led Left parties, Congress, and the Trinamool Congress. Few other smaller parties are also likely to contest the elections.

The BJP, CPI-M, Trinamool Congress, and the Congress leaders separately on Thursday said that they will announce their candidates by May 30, when the statutory notifications will be issued by the Election Commission (EC), and the process of filing nominations will start.

Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury, Trinamool’s Tripura state President Subal Bhowmik, BJP spokesman Nabendu Bhattacharjee have separately told IANS that they would not forge any alliance with any other party in the by-elections.

The by-polls were necessitated after the resignation of three BJP MLAs, and the death of CPI-M legislator Ramendra Chandra Debnath.

Amid open resentment by a section of BJP legislators, three MLAs, Sudip Roy Barman (Agartala), Ashis Kumar Saha (Town Bordowali), Ashis Das (Surma) quit the BJP and the assembly membership following differences with former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb, who also resigned on May 14 following the instructions of the party’s Central leadership, the exact reason for which is yet to disclosed.

Roy Barman, also a former BJP minister, and Saha joined the Congress in February this year while Das joined Trinamool Congress last year.

See also  Majority of parties support my candidature: Naidu

Elected from the Jubarajnagar assembly constituency six times, Debnath was Tripura assembly speaker multiple times. He passed away on February 2 in Kolkata due to kidney failure.

Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha, who assumed office on May 15, a day after Deb’s resignation, is expected to contest from Town Bordowali constituency on a BJP ticket as he is not a member of the state assembly.

According to the EC’s schedule announced on Wednesday, the statutory notification would be issued on May 30 and the last date of filling of nomination is June 6.

The scrutiny of nominees will be done next day. The last date of withdrawal of nomination is June 9. The votes will be counted on June 26.

Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our Podcast across platforms
AnchorAmazon MusicSpotifyGoogle PodcastsRadio PublicRSS

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

Subscribe Newsletter

Get latest news karnataka updates on your email.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp