News Karnataka
Thursday, June 08 2023

Vijayapura: Curiosity high on who will bag Cong ticket

Photo Credit : IANS

Vijayapura: With the reports of the Congress shortly releasing its first list of around 125 candidates for State for the coming Assembly polls, curiosity has only got intense as to whose name will appear in the list from District.

According to sources, all the three sitting MLAs of the Party are certain to get the ticket. However the uncertainty looms large over the selection of remaining candidates.

The District has eight Assembly Constituencies, of them three are held by the Congress namely, M. B. Patil from Babaleshwara, Shivanand Patil from Basavanabagewadi and Yeshwantraigouda Patil from Indi.

The party is having a tough time in finalising the candidates for the remaining five Assembly segments which includes Vijayapura City, Muddebihal, Devarahipparagi, Sindagi and Nagathan Reserved Constituencies.

For City, Abdul Hamid Mushrif who lost election by small margin in the last Assembly polls against sitting BJP MLA Basanagouda Patil Yatnal, is the front runner. Since he has been active in the party in the last five years even after losing the election, the sources said that he would be the first choice. However the names of other aspirants such as former MLA Makbul Bagwan are also making rounds.

For Muddebihala, it is learnt that the Party is contemplating to offer a ticket again to the Former MLA and Veteran Congress Leader, C. S. Nadagouda. Nadagouda was defeated by present BJP MLA A. S. Patil Nadahalli. It may be noted that Nadahalli who was the Congress MLA quit the party before the election and announced to join the JD (S) but just a few days later, he surprised by joining the BJP and clinching the ticket.

For Sindagi Constituency, Ashok Managuli is the front runner though some nine other aspirants have sought ticket. Ashok Managuli is the son of late MLA M. C. Managuli who was with the JD (S). But after his demise, Sindagi Constituency witnessed by-election where Ashok joined the Congress and contested polls. But he was defeated by sitting BJP MLA Ramesh Bhusnur. What is interesting is that Bhusnur had lost against father in the general election but won against son in the by-election.

At Devarahipparagi Constituency, the heat is already on as nine aspirants have expressed their anguish over the possible candidature of Former Minister S. R. Patil of Bagalakote District. All the nine aspirants recently held a joint press conference where they urged the party not to offer ticket to any ‘outsider’ and give ticket to any one of the nine aspirants.

The party may face some resistance and tough time in finalising the candidate for Devarahipparagi.

Finally for Nagathan Reserve Constituency, the party will have to choose a winnable candidate as the party is grappling to select one.

Former MLA of Nagathan and District Congress Committee President Raju Algur is the front runner. Other prominent leaders who have sought ticket are Former MLA Vithal Katakadonda and Srinath Pujari.

Share this:
Firoz Rozindar

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp