News Karnataka
Wednesday, February 01 2023

Villages boycott elections; demand for separate GP status

Photo Credit :

Belagavi: Three villages of Raibag taluk and two of Ramadurg taluk have decided to boycott elections scheduled for Sunday August 2, for the second time, demanding a separate GP status.

Six months ago as well the residents withdrew the elections and not a single candidate has filed nomination from these villages.

Yalparatti, Mantur and Bastawad villages of Raibag taluk will not take part in the election process. In Raibag taluk, the State Election Commission decided to conduct by elections for 35 posts in three gram panchayats, but nomination for only one post has been received. In Ramdurg taluk, Das Allapur and Obalapur villages kept out of the bypoll scenario. Here not a single nomination paper was received for 10 posts for which election wasn’t conducted in March 2015.

On behalf of the SEC, the district administration has to conduct byelections for 97 posts of 33 gram panchayats in district.

Yadravi village of Raibag taluk, attached to Diggewadi gram panchayat, Mantur village of Raibag taluk, Bastawad village, Bastawad gram panchayat, Yalparatti villagers, Siddapur gram panchayat are all seeking independent gram panchayat status.


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp
Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp