News Karnataka
Monday, December 11 2023

BJP leads in MLC polls in K’taka

Counting of votes
Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The counting of votes in the biennial election for the 25 seats for the Karnataka Legislative Council continues, with initial reports showing that the Bharatiya Janata Party will win. Six seats have been won by the BJP so far, while three seats have been won by the Congress.

As the parties were waiting for the Election Commission to make an official announcement of the results, the ruling BJP was feeling relieved. The party, which has 26 members in the council, will have the strength of 38 after the win on 12 seats is confirmed, and it will then emerge as the party with the most number of seats. The party is likely to elect its own candidate as the chairman of the Upper House.

However, JD(S) seems to have suffered a humiliating defeat, and is likely to lose the seat of Chairman in the council presently held by senior party leader Basavaraj Horatti.

Meanwhile, the JD(S) won a single seat in Hassan, which was won by party supremo H. D. Deve Gowda’s grandson Suraj Revanna.

Lakhan Jarkiholi, the independent candidate, won from Belagavi relegating the BJP to third position in the constituency.

Opposition leader Siddaramaiah stated that the Congress has won 11 seats. He further alleged that BJP leader Ramesh Jarkiholi was responsible for the BJP candidate’s defeat in Belagavi. Lakhan Jarakiholi, his brother, won as an independent candidate from here.

State President D.K. Shivakumar stated that the party has won seats in double digits. “Congress candidates have secured more votes and came close to victory. It is a good development,” he said.

So far, the BJP is leading in 12 seats, the Congress in 11, and the JD (S) in one.

Inputs from IANS

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp