News Karnataka
Tuesday, March 28 2023

BMRCL, forest department and BDA transfer 38 lakes to BBMP

Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The State Urban Development Department has transferred the ownership of 38 lakes from the BMRCL, forest department and the Bengaluru Development Authority (BDA) to the BBMP. Now, the total number of lakes owned by the BBMP is 71.

Of the 38 lakes transferred, 28 lakes are from the BDA, nine lakes are from the forest department and one lake is from the BMRCL.

The urban development department has asked the BBMP to conserve and restore all these lakes within a certain time-frame. It has also asked the BBMP to take up restoration works and ensure transparency of the same.

Some of the important lakes that have been handed over to the BBMP are Kengeri lake, Subbarayana lake, Puttenahalli lake, Madiwala lake, Mailasandra lake, Hebbala lake and Nagawara lake.

So far, various lakes were under the ownership of various government agencies, making it difficult for the agencies to coordinate the various lake developmental works. This new decision is expected to ensure that an early solution to the pollution of these lakes is found.

Share this:
Bhavana S

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp