News Karnataka
Wednesday, November 30 2022

Civic polls: Congress finally decides on candidates, list announced

Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The ego clashes in the ticket aspirants among party leaders forced the Congress to decide against releasing a candidates’ list for the BBMP elections; however now they have came out with the list.

The congress released the list on Sunday August 9, although earlier the candidates were scheduled individually file their nomination papers on Monday — the last day to do so — to prevent the JD(S) and the BJP from poaching the rebels and fielding them against the Congress nominees.

According to sources, candidates for almost all the 198 wards were finalized at a meeting between chief minister Siddaramaiah and KPCC president G Parameshwara on Saturday.

Congress party workers continued to support some ticket aspirants and were against some former corporators outside the Congress Bhavan and near Parameshwara’s house, thus the leaders decided against making the list public, sources said.

Reportedly, the party also struggled to identify clean candidates with no “active” criminal background. The background checks of the candidates took longer than expected for the party.

While some who had lost their ward in the reservation list, were accommodate by their spouses. Some other outgoing corporators have been denied tickets because of their poor performance in the ward or working against the party’s candidates in the 2013 assembly and 2014 Lok Sabha polls,” says reports.

The names that are announced until now are as follows:

Puttenahalli Ward – Sushil Gurudeva
Arakere Ward – Uma Srinivas Reddy
Jalahalli Ward – J N Srnivas Murthy
Yashwanthpura – J K Venkatesh
H.M.T Ward – H Asha Rani
H.S.R layout – Ramesh
J P Park Ward – K Sunandha
Laxmidevi Nagara – M Vellu Naykar
Begur ward – M Anjannappa
Kottepalya Ward – G Naykar
UttarHalli Ward – Varaprasada Reddy
Godekeray Ward – M Radha
Gandhi Nagar – R J Lata
Dayananda Nagar – Shakhela
H.P.R Layout – P Anand
Kadugundhanahalli Ward – Nausir Ahmed
Belikalli Ward – Ashwath Narayan Swami
Nellasandhra Ward – J Bala Krishna
Hagadhur Ward – S udaya Kumar
Bellandur Ward – Munilaxamma
Nandini Layout – M Najraj
Konanakunte – K Champa
JP Nagara ward – Asha
Sarikhe Ward – P Manjula
Anjanapurra ward – Gangadhar
New Tippasandhra – Shilpa
Sarvadhnyya Nagar – Indra
Raipura Ward – Shashikala
Azad Nagar – Sujatha M
Jaraganahalli Ward – J Vinitha
Vasanthapura Ward – Shivabaj Gowda
Singhsantra Ward – vanitha Venkatswami
Kempegowda Ward    – Nagalaxmi
Choudeshwari Ward    – Padmavati
Huddi Ward – A C Hariprasad
Kadugudi Ward – P Rajanna
J K Nagar Ward – Govind Raj R
Laggere – Ambujakshi Ravi Gowda
Shankara Matha Ward – M Shivraj
Mahalakshmipuram – S Keshav Murthy

More details awaited.


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp