News Karnataka
Saturday, February 24 2024

Colossal victory of BJP in Karnataka puts coalition government on ventilator!

Photo Credit :


Bengaluru: Karnataka Lok Sabha results are out and the BJP has witnessed a landslide victory snatching 25 seats out of 28 seats in the state. The result has put the JDS-Congress alliance at the state on a life-support system. The coalition, as per sources has been fighting for survival ever since its formation, but the incompatible partners kept putting up a unity show. However, the result of the incompatibility and its dismal performance is out in open. The Congress and the JDS have been reduced to dust in the state with both bagging one seat each. While DK Suresh saved the Congress’s face by winning Bengaluru Rural, CM HD Kumaraswamy’s nephew and PWD Minister HD Revanna’s son Prajwal saved the JDS face by winning from Hassan.

For the coalition government, the agreement did not go well right from the beginning and the seat-sharing came as a final blow. A couple of Congress strongholds fell into the hands of the JDS and there were allegations that in most of the constituencies, the workers of both the parties worked against each other, thereby benefiting the BJP. The suspicion between the coalition partners took the toll on the LS polls and the confusions between them could barely withstand the onslaught of the BJP’s precision and planning.

Gowda family in grief!
The JDS is nursing broken heart with the defeat of JDS Supremo and former PM HD Devegowda in Tumakuru and his grandson Nikhil Kumaraswamy in Mandya. After a lot of contemplations, HDD decided to ‘abdicate’ Hassan in favour of his grandson Prajwal Revanna and contest from Tumakuru. The Congress, which had its sitting MP SP Muddahanume Gowda in Tumakuru unwillingly ceded the seat causing resentment. However, luck was not by HDD’s side.

Meanwhile, in Mandya, political analysts feel that the tongue lashing and loose talks by the JDS leaders cost it dear. The ‘heir apparent’ of the JDS lost to Sumalatha Ambareesh, wife of former Congress leader MH Ambareesh. JDS leaders went on a spree attacking Sumalatha. While a JDS leader called her an outsider, HD Revanna questioned as to why the widow of Ambareesh was in a hurry to make a political entry. It is said that all of these insensitive remarks have resulted in the defeat of Nikhil Kumaraswamy.

Tejaswi Surya retains Bengaluru South for BJP
The untimely death of sitting MP of Bengaluru South Ananth Kumar was a big jolt for the BJP, however, even when it was widely believed that the BJP may go ahead and tap the sympathy votes by fielding Kumar’s wife Tejaswini Ananth Kumar, who is also a qualified engineer and head of NGO named ‘Agamyachethana Trust’, the BJP refused to take the easy path. It fielded the first timer Tejaswi Surya and the BJP has reaped rich dividend in the form of his victory. Meanwhile, former CM Sadananda Gowda won in Bengaluru North constituency and PC Mohan of the BJP won in Bengaluru central, against the much-hyped Independent candidate Prakash Raj.

Shivamogga constituency too was retained by BJP State Chief BS Yeddyurappa’s son BS Raghavendra, who showed coalition candidate Madhu Bangarappa the doors.

Congress veterans lose
Senior Congress leaders Mallikarjun Kharge, former CM of Karnataka M Veerappa Moily and KH Muniyappa all lost the BJP, further jolting the grand old party. However, with the mandate clear and loud, the state Congress leaders have congratulated the BJP for its victory. What now remains to be looked out for is the existence of the coalition party. BS Yeddyurappa had said that the party will not demand resignation from the CM. What might be the next move of the coalition partners is still a suspense.





Gaddigoudar Parvatagouda Chandanagouda (BJP)

Veena Kashappanavar (Congress)

Bengaluru Central

P C Mohan (BJP)

Rizwan Arshad (Congress)

Bengaluru North

D V Sadananda Gowda (BJP)

Krishna Byre Gowda (Congress)

Bengaluru Rural

D K Suresh (Congress)

Ashwath Narayan Gowda (BJP)

Bengaluru South

Tejaswi Surya (BJP)

B K Hariprasad (Congress)


Angadi Suresh Channabasappa (BJP)

Sadhunavar (Congress)


Y Devendrappa (BJP)

V S Ugrappa (Congress)


Bhagawanth Khuba (BJP)

Eeshwar B Khandre (Congress)


Jigajinagi Ramesh Chandappa (BJP)

Sunita Devanand Chavan (JDS)


V Srinivasa Prasad (BJP)

R Dhruvanarayan (Congress)


B N Bacche Gowda (BJP)

M Veerappa Moily (Congress)


Annasaheb Shankar Jolle (BJP)

Prakash Hukkeri (Congress)


A Narayanswamy (BJP)

B N Chandrappa (Congress)

Dakshina Kannada

Nalin Kumar Kateel (BJP)

Mithun Rai (Congress)


G M Siddeshwar (BJP)

H B Manjappa (Congress)


Pralhad Joshi (BJP)

Vinay Kulkarni (Congress)


Umesh Jadhav (BJP)

Mallikarjun Kharge (Congress)


Prajwal Revanna (JDS)

A Manju (BJP)


C S Udasi (BJP)

D R Patil (Congress)


S Muniswamy (BJP)

K H Muniappa (Congress)


Karadi Sanganna Amarappa (BJP)

K Rajashekhar Basavaraj Hitnal (Congress)


Sumalatha Ambareesh (Independent)

Nikhil Kumaraswamy (JDS)


Pratap Simha (BJP)

C H Vijay Shankar (Congress)


Raja Amareshwar Naik (BJP)

B V Naik (Congress)


B Y Raghavendra (BJP)

Madhu Bangarappa (JDS)


G S Basavaraj (BJP)

H D Deve Gowda (JDS)


Shobha Karandlaje (BJP)

Pramod Madhwaraj (JDS)

Uttara Kannada

Ananth Kumar Hegde (BJP)

Anand Asnotikar (JDS)

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp