News Karnataka
Sunday, December 04 2022

‘Mumbai-Karnataka’ region to be called ‘Kittur Karnataka’ henceforth

Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The Karnataka government at the Cabinet meeting held on Monday November 8 decided to rename the ‘Mumbai-Karnataka’ region as ‘Kittur Karnataka’ region, State Law Minister J. C. Madhuswamy confirmed.

Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai had made an announcement in this regard during campaigning for the recent bypolls.

The region comprising Uttara Kannada, Belagavi, Dharwad, Vijayapura, Bagalkot, Gadag and Haveri districts was referred to as Mumbai-Karnataka region as they were under Maratha rule once and were included into the State of Karnataka at the time of formation of states on the basis of language. The people of the area have been demanding renaming of the region to mirror the local culture and language.

Kittur was the capital City of the erstwhile queen Chennamma, who had waged a war against the British and sacrificed her life for the country. The people have welcomed the decision of the government.

The government also decided to hold a winter Assembly session at the Suvarna Soudha in Belagavi between December 13 and 24.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp