News Karnataka
Tuesday, February 27 2024

Writer D S Nagabhushan rejects Rajyotsava award

Photo Credit :

nagbhushanBengaluru: Another writer has rejected the Kannada Rajyotsava award along with Udupi based activist Dr. Ravindranatha Shanbhogue.

Kannada writer D S Nagabhushan has rejected the award stating that he has taken this decision in protest against the state government’s failure to make Kannada medium compulsory in the primary education.

Originally the state government had selected 62 people for this coveted award given on November 1 evening by the chief minister. But with two of the awardees rejecting the awards, the number has come down to 60.

In his letter to Kannada and Culture minister Umashri, D S Nagabhushan informed that unless and untill the government makes Kannada as the mandatory medium of instruction in the primary school level it is impossible to save the language.

“Kannada language is providing livelihood to thousands of people. If Kannada is not made compulsory at the primary school level it may end up with death of this language,” he stated in his letter.

Share this:
Bhavana S

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp