News Karnataka
Saturday, December 03 2022

Mangaluru to be upgraded to Smart City

Photo Credit :

Mangaluru: The city, amidst all of its recent negative news, now has something to celebrate about. It is of great pride to the coastal city of Mangaluru that the central government, led by Modi, has chosen the coastal city as one among the 98 cities to be upgraded to a Smart City.

The list of cities was announced by the union urban development minister Venkaiah Naidu on Thursday August 27.

Naidu said that Rs 2 crore would be released soon to prepare the blueprint for the Smart City project. In the next five years, Rs 100 crore would be released every year for each of the cities. Altogether, the project is being undertaken at a cost of Rs 48,000 crore, he said.

He further said that the “prime motive behind the smart city project is to enhance urban life”.

Also, the state government will release Rs 100 crore annually for the next five years for each of the cities selected for the project.

There were 13 parameters set by the ministry which included existing service level, past track record reforms, implementation of the Jawaharlal Nehru national urban renewal mission scheme and self-financing capacity among others.

Six cities had been nominated from Karnataka state and all have been chosen. They are, Mangaluru, Hubballi-Dharwad, Belagavi, Shivamogga, Tumakuru and Davanagere. These cities secured the highest scores in the competition, with Mangaluru topping the list with 96.88 percent.

Of those chosen for the project, 24 are capital cities, 24 are business hubs and 18 are cultural centres. Cities like Patna, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Thiruvananthapuram and Shimla have failed to make the cut in round one.

In the next five years, Rs 3 lac crore will be spent in developing the towns to provide world class infrastructure, sustainable environment and smart solutions.

Uttar Pradesh will have the highest number of smart cities (13) followed by Tamil Nadu (12), Maharashtra (10), Madhya Pradesh (7) and Karnataka and Gujarat 6 each. Punjab, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh each will have three smart cities.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp