News Karnataka
Wednesday, December 07 2022

Congress wrests Ballari from BJP in Karnataka

Photo Credit :

Ballari: The Congress party on Tuesday wrested the Ballari (reserved) Lok Sabha seat from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Bypoll had been held in the constituency on November 3.

Congress candidate V.S. Ugrappa defeated BJP’s J. Shantha by a margin of 2,43,161 votes, according to the results declared by the Election Commission on its website.

The byelection was held in the Lok Sabha constituency, which has been held by the BJP since 2004, after BJP leader B. Sriramulu, elder brother of Shantha, had resigned from the seat following his election to the state Legislative Assembly from Molakalmuru in May.

Ballari was the Lok Sabha constituency where former Congress President Sonia Gandhi had defeated BJP leader Sushma Swaraj in the 1999 general elections.

Congress continued to win the seat till 2004, when the BJP wrested it and retained it till this by-poll.

The BJP had pulled all stops during campaigning to ensure the victory of Shantha, who represented the constituency from 2009-14.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp