News Karnataka
Friday, December 09 2022

Special revision of voters’ list to begin on Nov 10: K A Dayanand

Photo Credit :

Shivamogga: As the Shivamogga Lok Sabha by-poll concludes, Deputy Commissioner K A Dayanand on Friday, November 9, said that a special revision of the voters’ list would be carried out.

Addressing the media personnel at his office, he said that the revision process would begin from tomorrow, that is, November 10. By January 15, 2019, the process would be completed with the final voters’ list being announced.

Dayanand said, “On November 15 and 31, a special awareness campaign will be organised, in which the officials from the respective polling branches will visit door to door. I request the people to cooperate.”

“From November 10 to December 20, time-space will be allotted to rectify any errors in the voters’ list. The voters must confirm about their names having been listed properly in the list”, he added.

Dayanand said that opportunity would be specially given to those who stay in the rented houses to transfer their names to the voters’ list of their area of residence.

He also requested all the political party leaders to co-operate with the public and help them in the process, especially those whose names have not been identified or not yet updated in the list and those of the deceased.

“Youth who will be 18–years-old by January 1, 2019, shall provide the necessary information to the officials concerned and have their names registered”, said Dayanand.

He also informed that according to the directions of the Election Commission of India, to inspect all the taluks of the Shivamogga district, Principal Secretary to Government, Education Department, Dr. Shalini Rajneesh has been appointed. The registrars and assistant registrars are also appointed.

The deputy collectors are appointed as registrars of Shivamogga, Bhadravati, and Thirthahalli. City Corporation Commissioner will be handling the duty within the corporation limits and Sagara Sub-Divisional officers will be appointed as registrars of Shikaripura, Soraba, Sagara and Hosanagar.

According to the recent statistics, there are 7,10,026 male and 7,13,061 female voters and 1775 polling booths are in place at the taluk level.

Dayanand said, “If there are 1400 voters in the city limits and over 1300 voters in the villages, then the polling booths will be assigned with numbers to have a clear division.”

Deputy Commissioner Sangappa was present.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp