News Karnataka
Thursday, July 07 2022

Mysorian Becomes CM after 33 Years - 3 min read

Photo Credit :

Mysore: After thirty-three-years a politician from Mysore has become CM.  He is the second after D Devaraj Urs from Mysore district reigned as CM from May 10 1972 to 1977 and 1978 to 1980.

It’s the co-incidence that Devaraj Urs later joined Janata Party, while Siddaramaiah migrated to Congress from Janata Parivar.  He was the leader of backward communities since the past 40 years and was known for secular values.  His dream of becoming CM has realized in its opportune time.

It’s the first time in the history of Karnataka that the post of CM has gone to Kuruba community.  Siddaramaiah was a key leader in Janata Parivar even during the reign of Devaraj Urs, but owing to change in political situation had to join Congress party that he always opposed.  He was fortunate to become CM among Congress men.  No sooner the assembly elections were over, AICC chairperson Sonia Gandhi announced that Siddaramaiah will be the next CM; the entire political situation changed.  The strong Congress waves across the state, and Siddaramaiah won the assembly elections from Varuna legislative constituency with a margin of over 30,000 proved his popularity.

Siddaramaiah launched AHINDA when he realized that his dream of becoming CM is not possible with JDS that is limited to Gowda’s domain and joined Congress.  The political analysts speculated that he would survive for long because of his straight forward nature and the culture of high command prevails in Congress.  The veteran Congress men also doubted whether Siddaramaiah would be selected for the coveted post.  But, all that is now history.

See also  Wing commander accused for wife’s death

Karnataka Chief Ministers list:

Kyasaballi Chengalaraya Reddy – from October 25 1947 to March 30 1952 (Congress) : Okkaliga

Kengal Hanumantayya – from March 30 1952 to August 19 1956 (Congress): Okkaliga

Kadidal Manjappa – from August 19 1956 to October 31 1956 (Congress)

S Nijalingappa – from November 1 1956 to May 16 1958 (Congress): Lingayata

Basappa Danappa Jatti – May 16 1958 to March 9 1962 (Congress): Lingayata

S R Kanti – from March 14 1962 to June 20 1962 (Congress): Banajiga Lingayata

S Nijalingappa – from June 21 1962 to May 29 1968 (Congress)

Verendra Paatil, from May 20 1968 to March 18 1971 (Congress) Banajiga Lingayata

President’s Rule, from December 31 1977 to February 28 1978

D Devaraj Urs, from February 28 1978 to January 7 1980 (Congress)

R Gundu Rao, from January 12 1980 to January 7 1980 (Congress)

Ramakrishna Hegde, from January 10 1983 to Decembeer 29 1984 (Janata Party) Brahman

Ramakrishna Hegde, from March 8 1985 to August 10 1986 (Janata Party)

Ramakrishna Hegde, from February 16 1986 to August 10 1988 (Janata Party)

S R Bommai, August 13 1988 to April 21 1989 (Janata Party)

President’s Rule, April 21 1989 to November 30 1989

Veerendra Patil, from November 30 1989 to October 10 1990 (Congress)

President’s Rule, Octoer 10 1990 to October 17 1990

S Bangarappa, from October 17 1990 to November 19 1992 (Congress) Ediga

M Veerappa Moily, from November 19 1992 to December 11 1994 (Congress) Devadiga

H D Deve Gowda, from December 11 1994 to May 31 1996 (Janata Dal) Okkaliga

J H Patil, May 31 1996 to October 7 1999 (Janata Dal) Lingayata

See also  Trio on single bike crash into an electric pole, two dead and one critical

S M Krishna, from October 11 1999 to May 28 2004 (Congress)

Dharam Singh, from May 28 2004 to January 28 2006 (Congress) Gola Rajput

H D Kumaraswamy, from February 3 2006 to October 8 2007 (JDS) Okkaliga

President’s Rule, from October 9 2007 to November 11 2007

B S Yeddyurappa, from November 12 2007 to November 19 2007 (BJP) Lingayata

President’s Rule, from November 20 2007 to May 29 2008

B S Yeddyurappa, from May 30 2008 to August 3 2011 (BJP) Lingayata

D V Sadanand Gowda, from August 4 2011 to July 12 2012 (BJP) Are Gowda

Jagdish Shettar, July 12 2012 to May 8 2013 (BJP) Veerashaiva

Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our Podcast across platforms
AnchorAmazon MusicSpotifyGoogle PodcastsRadio PublicRSS

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

Subscribe Newsletter

Get latest news karnataka updates on your email.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp