News Karnataka
Saturday, August 13 2022

Siddaramaiah eyeing Hunsur Constituency?

Photo Credit : IANS

Mysuru: After Badami, Varuna, and Chamundeshwari Assembly segments, is the Opposition Leader in the Legislative Assembly, Siddaramaiah, looking for a safe seat in his home turf of Mysuru for the upcoming elections?

The speculations are gaining ground about Siddaramaiah likely to contest from Hunsur Assembly constituency in the district. In the last several months, Siddaramaiah has made frequent visits to Hunsur and hence the buzz.

Siddaramaiah currently represents Badami in Bagalakote District in the Assembly. With Siddaramaiah’s predecessor, B. B. Chimmankatti, announcing his desire to run for the next elections in Badami on a Congress ticket in 2023 and vocally opposing Siddaramaiah’s re-contest, it is learnt that the former is reportedly looking into other alternatives.

When Siddaramaiah opted to contest the previous elections in 2018 from two seats, it was Chamundeshwari and Badami Assembly segments. While he lost by a huge margin in Chamundeshwari to JD (S) sitting MLA G. T. Devegowda, he won by a wafer-thin margin against B. Sriramulu, a BJP nominee in Badami.

Before that, sitting Congress MLA from Badami B. B. Chimmankatti abdicated his seat to facilitate Siddaramaiah to contest. When it comes to Hunsur, it is a Congress forte, barring exceptions when Janata Dal and Janata Dal-Secular nominees had made it to the lower house of the State Legislature.

It is currently being represented by H. P. Manjunath, a Congress MLA and staunch Siddaramaiah follower. It seems Manjunath also has no qualms over refraining from seeking re-election and will pave the way for his leader. JD (S) legislator from Chamundeshwari G. T.

Devegowda who defeated Siddaramaiah in the 2018 election is not on good terms with JD (S) leader and former chief minister H. D. Kumaraswamy.

On the other hand, GTD became closer with Siddaramaiah and expressed his desire to join Congress. GTD, who is a Vokkaliga leader has a good number of supporters in Hunsur. If GTD joins Congress, it will increase the winning opportunity for Siddaramaiah, says local Congress leaders.

Siddaramaiah’s son Yatindra represents the Varuna constituency.

Mysuru District has a total of 11 assembly constituencies Krishnaraja, Chamaraja, Narasimha Raja, Chamundeshwari, Varuna, H D Kote, Periyapatna, Hunsur, K R Nagar, Nanjanagud, T Narasipura and Varuna.
In the 2018 hustings, the JD (S) won five seats, while the Congress won three and the BJP won three.

A clarity can be expected only when the elections draw closer and Siddaramaiah clears the air. Till then one has to wait and watch how things will unfold.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

Subscribe Newsletter

Get latest news karnataka updates on your email.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp