News Karnataka
Friday, December 08 2023

AP and Karnataka to clash in the Nagesh Trophy final

AP and Karnataka to clash in the Nagesh Trophy final
Photo Credit : By Author

Hyderabad: Defending champions Andhra Pradesh and last edition’s runners-up Karnataka will once again meet in the finals of the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy National T20 Cricket Tournament for the Blind 2022 -23 which will be played here at the AYR Cricket Ground on March 17, 2023. Andhra comprehensively beat Gujarat by 8 wickets to qualify for the finals in the first semifinals. The second semifinal between Karnataka and Odisha was abandoned due to rain. Karnataka qualified for the finals by virtue of topping their group in the Super 8s.

In the first semifinal, Andhra won the toss and elected to field. Gujarat lost Ashwin Kunvar and Kalpesh Nimbadkar inside the first six overs with the score reading just 25. Andhra bowlers bowled tight lines and gave very few opportunities for the Gujarat batters to score runs. Opener Dinesh Rathva was joined by Zena Kesare and both batters started to resurrect the Gujarat innings. They put together a 76-run partnership for the third wicket. The innings slowed down once again when both Dinesh and Zena were dismissed in the form of runouts with the score reading 101 and still more than six overs to be bowled. Eventually, Gujarat ended their innings on 150/6 in their 20 overs. Naresh Tumda’s brisk knock of 32 runs helped them to reach a respectable score. D. Venkateswara Rao took a wicket for Andhra while the other five batters were run out.

In reply, Andhra openers and international players A. Ravi and Ajay Kumar Reddy showed no signs of pressure and batted sensibly giving very little for the Gujarat bowlers to exploit. When Ravi was dismissed for 40, both batters had already put on 124 runs taking the match away from Gujarat. Satyanarayana was dismissed two balls later. Both batters were dismissed by Zena Kesare. Ajay Kumar Reddy along with Thandava Krishna finished the innings and took Andhra past the target in 17.2 overs booking their place in the finals. Ajay Kumar Reddy remained unbeaten on 79 runs.

In the second semifinals, Karnataka were well placed at 117/2 in 11 overs before rain played spoilsport. Sunil Ramesh was batting on 78 and was accompanied by Prakash Jayaramaiah who was batting on 11. Continuous rail made it tough for the match to resume which forced the officials to abandon the game. Karnataka by virtue of topping the Super 8s group was declared the winners and will face Andhra in the finals which is a repeat of the previous edition’s finals.
Brief Scores
Gujarat – 150/6 in 20 Overs (Dinesh Rathva – 63, Naresh Tumda – 32; D. Venkateswara Rao – 1/18) lost to Andhra Pradesh – 151/2 in 17.2 Overs (Ajay Kumar Reddy – 79 no, A. Ravi – 40; Zena Kesare – 2/10)
Karnataka– 117/2 in 11 Overs (Sunil Ramesh 79 no; Sukhram Majhi – 1/20) vs Odisha(Match abandoned due to rain, Karnataka qualifies virtue of superior table position)

Read more:

Deepak Malik’s double century steals the thunder in Nagesh Trophy

Nagesh Trophy: Odisha, AP, K’taka, Gujarat reach semifinals

AP, K’taka, Gujarat, Odisha win Nagesh Trophy first day matches

Jharkhand cruises to Nagesh Trophy Super 8s with win over Bihar

Angad’s century gives Bihar a thumping victory in Nagesh Trophy

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp