News Karnataka
Friday, April 19 2024

AP, Odisha continue winning streak in the Nagesh Trophy

AP, Odisha continue winning streak in the Nagesh Trophy
Photo Credit : By Author

Chennai/Ajmer: Odisha and defending champions Andhra Pradesh continued their winning streak by securing their third consecutive victories in the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy National T20 Cricket for the Blind being played at different grounds of the cities while Delhi secured their third victory in Group C and Kerala their second victory in Group A. 

In the Group A matches at Sri Ramachandra University, Chennai, defending champions Andhra Pradesh had a close contest and won the match by 6 wickets with 5 balls to spare. Jharkhand won the toss and elected to bat first. Openers Nishit Bara and Rahul Soren put on a 78-run first-wicket partnership. Nishit scored 65 while Rahul scored 32. The innings was given a final push by Sanjeev Kerketta who scored 33 runs. Eventually, the Jharkhand innings ended on 178/5 in 20 overs. Shankar and A. Ravi took a wicket each for Andhra. In reply, centurion A. Ravi dominated the first wicket partnership of 94 runs in which R. Venkatesh scored 21 runs. Andhra lost 2 quick wickets but Ravi continued his free-scoring before retiring on 114 out of 64 balls with the help of 14 boundaries. Andhra crossed the target in 19.1 overs to secure their third victory. In the other match of the group, Kerala secured an easy victory by 8 wickets over Himachal Pradesh. Himachal Pradesh won the toss and opted to bat. Himachal could not create any momentum to their innings and lost wickets continuously. Sachin Thulaseedharan and Vishnu N.K. ran riot in the Himachal lineup sharing 5 wickets among them. Jineesh K.M. and Venugopal took a wicket each. Raj Kumar top-scored for Himachal, scoring 20 runs. Kerala in reply crossed the target in just 11.1 overs. Openers Arjun P and Abdul Munaz put together 98 runs leaving Himachal with no hopes of a comeback in the match. Munaz scored 62 while Arjun remained unbeaten on 39. 

In Group C matches at the Lawrence and Mayo Public School, Ajmer, Odisha thrashed Jammu and Kashmir by 8 wickets to secure their third consecutive victory. Opting to bat first, J&K scored 156/10 in their 20 overs. Mohammed Azeem top scored 56 runs while Angrej scored 43 runs. Nakula Badanayak, Sukhram Majhi and Tapan Kumar scalped 2 wickets each for Odisha. In reply, Odisha chased down the target in just 11.4 overs. Openers Sukdev Soren (55) and Lalprasad Soren (82 not out) made it easy for Odisha as they chased down the target easily. In the other match of the group, Delhi beat Telangana by 66 runs to secure their third consecutive victory. Delhi, batting first put up a huge total of 239/4 in 20 overs with the help of innings by Vipin Kumar (78), Irfan Diwan (69) and Manish Kumar (32). Chasing a huge target, Telangana could only manage 173/4 in their 20 overs. Nikhil Bathula who scored 66 and Ghazanfarullah Khan who scored 35 runs offered some resistance. Irfan Diwan scalped 2 wickets for Delhi.

Tomorrow’s Matches:

Group A (Chennai)

Kerala vs Andhra Pradesh

Tamil Nadu vs Jharkhand

Group C (Ajmer) 

Jammu & Kashmir vs Telangana

Odisha vs Jammu & Rajasthan

Read more:

AP, Odisha secure their 2nd consecutive wins in Nagesh Trophy

Gujarat is now on top of the table in Nagesh Trophy

Odisha sets new record, Gujarat has 3rd win in Nagesh Trophy

Haryana win, Gujarat has easy win in Nagesh Trophy

Gujarat wins splendid chase against Haryana in Nagesh Trophy

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp