News Karnataka
Tuesday, May 30 2023

Wins by Chandigarh, Railways open Cricket Tourney for the Blind

Wins by Chandigarh, Railways open Cricket Tourney for the Blind
Photo Credit : Facebook

Chandigarh: The inauguration of the 5th edition of the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy was held at Chandigarh today. Dr Baljit Kaur – Cabinet Minister Government of Punjab for Social Justice, Empowerment and Minorities, Social Security, Women and Child Development inaugurated the Group F matches of the National T20 Cricket Tournament for the Blind. Amit Talwar – Director Sports and Youth Affairs, Government of Punjab, Damanjeet Singh Maan – ADC Urban Development, Dr S S Pandav – Head Eye Department PGI, Shri E John David – General Secretary, Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI), Vinod Chadha – Hon. President, National Association for the Blind were present at the inaugural ceremony. 

Chandigarh and Railways started their group stage campaign with dominating wins on Day 1 in Group F of the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy National T20 Cricket Tournament for the Blind which is being played here at the PCA Stadium. Chandigarh beat Manipur and Railways beat Assam to start their campaign on a positive note.

In the first match which was reduced to 18 overs per side, Chandigarh won the toss and elected to field. Manipur 185/7 from their stipulated 18 overs. Sanjay Ram top-scored for the side by scoring 42 runs. Mukesh Sharma and wicketkeeper Ramesh Kumar scored 35 and 28 runs respectively. Nitin Kumar and Sumant Poddar took a wicket each for the bowling side. In reply, Chandigarh reached the target in 16.4 overs with the loss of 2 wickets. Opener Mau Jahid Khan scored a brilliant unbeaten hundred for the hosts. His knock came off 49 balls with the help of 17 boundaries. He was supported by captain Ved Prakash who scored an unbeaten 57 of 38 balls. Both batsmen put in an unbeaten partnership of 157 runs to secure the victory.

In the other match of the same group, Railways got the better of Assam in a dominant performance. In the match which was reduced to 17 overs per side, Railways put Assam to bat. Assam scored 172/3 in their 17 overs. Humen Buragohain top scored with 58 runs for the side and was supported by Manjit Choudhary who scored 40 and Deben Adhikhari who scored 30 runs. Vipul Jethva scalped 2 wickets for Railways. In reply, Railways reached the target in just 11 overs with the loss of 3 wickets. Sanjay Kumar Shah remained unbeaten with an excellent knock of 92 runs. He put up an excellent first-wicket partnership of 117 runs with Paras Bhatia who scored 38 runs which made the chase easier.   

Tomorrows Matches:

Railways vs Manipur

Chandigarh vs Assam

Read more:

Teams from 24 States to participate in T20 National Cricket Tournament for the Blind

Blind Aus cricketer Steffan Nero hits 309 n/o against NZ

CABI: Indian squad in Bilateral Cricket series for the Blind ’21 announced

Karnataka hands Kerala 10 Wicket defeat, takes 4th Indusind Bank Nagesh Trophy For The Blind

Govt awards Rs 7 lakh each to Indian Blind Cricket team

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp