News Karnataka
Sunday, January 29 2023

Karnataka’s N R Poovamma selected in Commonwealth Games team

Photo Credit :

New Delhi/ Bengaluru: N R Poovamma of Karnataka is one among 31 athletes who have been selected for the Commonwealth Games to be held at Gold Coast.

Indian Athletic Federation released the names of the team members – 18 men and 13 women – on Saturday. Javelin Thrower, World Champion in the junior section Neeraj Chopra has also been selected for the team. He had won gold in the recently held Federation cup in Patiala.

According to the selection committee sources, Poovamma and Mohammad Anas have agreed to participate in relay training at the national camp. But, since G.K Vijayakumari of Karnataka didn’t agree her name has been excluded.

There are six competitors in men’s relay team and five in women’s team.

Men’s team: Jinson Johnson, Dharun Ayyaswamy, Tejaswini Shankar, Siddarth Yadav, Shri Shankar, Arpindar Singh, Rakesh Babu, Tajindar Pal Singh, Neeraj Chopra, Vipin, Irphan Thandi, Manish Singh Rawat, Mohammad Anas, Jeevan Suresh, Amoj Jacob, Kunhu Mohammed, Jitu Babi, Arokia Rajeev.

Women’s team: Hima Das, Surayya, Nayana James, Neena Pinto, Seema Punia, Navajeet Kaur, Dhillan, Poornima Hembram, Sowmya Baby, Kaushbir Kaur, M R Poovamma, Sonia Baishya, Saritha Ben Gayakvad and Juna Murmu.

Share this:
Bhavana S

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp