News Karnataka
Tuesday, February 27 2024

Robin negates Suchith’s blitzkrieg

Photo Credit :

Mysuru: A blitzkrieg by left-hander J Suchith who hammered the fastest 50 of the KPL, a 15-ball 54 for Mysuru Warriors, was not enough to stop the Bijapur Bulls from bulldozing their way to a convincing seven-wicket victory in the Karbonn Smart KPL 2015 here on Monday night.

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 1Incidentally, Suchith’s blazing knock, studded with three fours and six towering sixes, matched Yusuf Pathan’s 15-ball 50 for Kolkata Knight Riders against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2014 season. Chasing the Warriors’ 167, Bijapur Bulls were well served by the top order led by man of the match Robin Uthappa (49 N.O., 34b, 3  x 4, 2 x 6) and opener Rajoo Bhatkal (40, 21b, 6 x 4, 1 x 6).

The Bulls were cruising along the chase all through with the openers putting on 66 for the first wicket. Then Uthappa took over and in the company of Sunil Raju (23) and Nidesh M (24 N.O.) guided the team to the target and to the top of the table with 11 points from five wins and one washed out contest.

“It is a pretty good feeling to be man of the match. I wanted the team through the target. Te openers got us through fantastically in the front stages of the innings and useful contributions from the others made it easy. I knew that if I lasted till the end, I could take the team through. I got a few crucial sixes and boundaries”, said Robin Uthappa after collecting his cheque for the man of the match.

Earlier, Suchith’s knock and new skipper, CM Gautam’s 58 were the highlights of the Mysuru Warriors innings, who became virtually the first team in the League to face bowing out of competition. They still have two matches to go and the use of calculators may still help their cause along with divine intervention!

Taking first strike, the Warriors batsmen showed positives in their approach. There were small and useful partnerships up the order. But unable to step on the peddle meant the team would finish with a total of a little too few. But Suchith had grand plans as he plundered the last two overs from the Bulls. The 19th over saw 23 coming, 22 being taken by Suchith and off the last five balls, he hammered Abhimanyu Mithun for 24 runs to take the team to 167 from 120 after the 18th over.


Mysuru Warriors:
Arjun Hoysala c & b S Raju 13; CM Gautam c Somanna b A Mithun 58 (52b, 4 x 1, 1 x 6); MG Naveen c R Samarth b Cariappa 22 (19b, 4 x 4); Manjesh Reddy (run out) 18; J Suchith (not out) 54 (15b, 3 x 4, 6 x 6); K Gowtham c Somanna b A Mithun 1; Shoiab Manager (not out) 0. Extras: (lb-1) 1.

Total: (For five wickets, 20 overs) 167.

Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Hoysala); 2-76 (Naveen); 3-108 (Reddy); 4-120 (Gautam); 5-143 (Gowtham).

Bowling: Abhimanyu Mithun 4-0-35-2; Vyshak Vijay Kumar 2-0-17-0; Suneel Raju 4-0-27-1; Rajoo Bhatkal 2-0-14-0; KC Cariappa 4-0-30-1; KP Appanna 4-0-43-0.

Bijapur Bulls:
R Samarth c Suchith b S Kumar 34 (34b 5 x 4); Rajoo Bhatkal st CM Gautam b J Suchith 40 (21b, 6 x 4, 1 x 6); Robin Uthappa (not out) 49 (34b, 3 x 4, 2 x 6); Suneel Raju c Suchith b Gowtham 23 (16b, 1 x 4, 2 x 6); M Nidesh (not out) 24 (13b, 2 x 4, 1 x 6). Extras: (lb-1) 1.

Total: (For three wickets, 19.4 overs) 171.

Fall of wickets: 1-66 (Bhatkal); 2-80 (Samarth); 3-117 (Raju);

Bowling: K Gowtham 4-0-40-1; Sunil Kumar 4-0-40-1; David Mathias 2.4-0-28-0; J Suchith 4-0-23-1; Anand Doddamani 4-0-31-0; CK Akshay 1-0-8-0.

Toss: Won by Bijapur Bulls; opted to field

Result: Bijapur Bulls won by seven wickets, two balls to spare.

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 2

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 3

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 4

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 5

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 6

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 7

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 8

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 9

Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls Copy 10


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp