News Karnataka
Monday, January 30 2023

Malaysia bans entry of travellers from 8 countries amid Omicron scare

Photo Credit :

Kuala Lumpur: Malaysia has imposed travel restrictions on travellers from eight countries in a bid to stop the new Omicron variant from spreading to the country, Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin said on Wednesday Dec 1.

The countries affected are South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and Malawi, with non-citizens from these countries being barred from entering Malaysia, he told a press conference.

The restriction will also apply to migrant workers as well as international students from the affected countries.

The minister also said the list would be updated regularly and countries added or removed as needed.

He said that while Malaysian citizens, permanent residents and long-term passholders were not barred, they would be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine on arrival, Xinhua news agency reported.

Khairy also said plans to introduce vaccinated travel lanes with countries afflicted with Omicron would be put on hold.

The Omicron variant was first reported to the World Health Organisation (WHO) by South Africa last week. So far, several European countries as well as countries and regions including Australia, Canada, Israel and China’s Hong Kong have confirmed infections of the variant.

The WHO has called the strain with a large number of mutations a “variant of concern,” warning that it may be highly transmissible and pose an increased risk of reinfection to people who have previously been infected with Covid-19.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp