News Karnataka
Monday, April 15 2024

Mangalore Christian Council celebrates diamond jubilee

Mangalore Christian Council celebrates diamond jubilee
Photo Credit : By Author

Mangaluru: The ‘Mangalore Christian Council’ (MCC) celebrated its Diamond Jubilee on Dec 14, 2022, at 4:30 p.m. at Rosario Cultural Hall.

The function was presided over by Most Rev. Dr Peter Paul Saldanha, Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Mangalore.  The new Bishop of CSI-Karnataka Southern Diocese, Rt Rev. Hemachandra Kumar Bishop of Malankara Catholic Diocese of Puttur; Most Rev. Dr  Geevarghese Mar Makarios; and Fr Baptist Menezes, National Ecumenical Secretary (CBCI) were the Chief Guests.

The new Bishop of CSI-Karnataka Southern Diocese Rt Rev. Hemachandra Kumar was felicitated at this occasion. The former Secretaries (between 2012-2022) Rev. Dr J B Saldahna, Rev Clifford Fernandes and Rev Sagar Sundaraj and the treasurer F.M Lobo were also felicitated. Rev. Dr H.M Watson Prinicpal Karnataka Theological College and Rev. Dr Ronald Serrao, Rector of St. Joseph’s Seminary offered special prayers on this occasion. Rev. M Praburaj, Area Chairman CSI-DK Area, and Alfred Manohar All Karnataka United Christian Forum for Human Rights –Western Zone were present.

The Prizes were distributed to all those winners of the Essay Competition conducted on the occasion of the Diamond Jubilee. Members of various denominations, Christian institutions and faith communities presented the Christmas message through Music, Singing, Dance and Drama and entertained the audience.

The Mangalore Christian Council is a voluntary Body of Christians, under the patronage of the Bishops of the Church of South India – The Southern Karnataka Dioceses and the Catholic Diocese of Mangalore. It also has membership drawn from the various mainline Christian denominations in Mangaluru, calling people to live in harmony and peace, promoting unity among Christians and the values of Christ Jesus.

Names of the Essay competition Prize winners:

Konkani (16-30 years)

  1. Naveen Shervin D’Souza, Bantwal
  2. Viola Mascarenhas, Gantalkatte
  3. Leesha Vinisha Lobo, Bantwal

English (16-30 years)

  1. Ann Mary Varghese, Mangaluru
  2. Diona Lita D’Souza, Ferar
  3. Daniel Thomas, Kerala


  1. Saujanya J, Chikmagalur
  2. Geetha Hans, Mangaluru
  3. Susheela Idora, Mangaluru

Konkani (Above 30 years)

  1. Lavina Leera Menezes, Baljunje
  2. Richard Alvares, Cordel
  3. Odrin D’Souza, Bantwal

English (Above 30 years)

  1. Rosina Florence D’Souza, Mangaluru
  2. Melena Jyothi Gonsalves, Bantwal
  3. Prema Melita Pinto, Mangaluru

The Members of the Mangalore Diocese Ecumenical Commission were instrumental in organizing the event.

Anil D’sa and Glory Dezo compered the program.

Rev. Rupesh Madtha, Secretary of Mangalore Christian Council welcomed the gathering.

Rev. Dr Sandeep Theophil delivered the vote of thanks

Read more:

Diocese of Mangalore in association with CODP disburses scholarships for 91 poor and needy students

New Commissioner of Police visits Bishop of Catholic Diocese of Mangalore

Bishop ordains three deacons to the order of Priesthood for the Diocese of Mangalore

Diocese of Mangalore to campaign against suicide

Mangalore Diocese representatives meet Dr Veerendra Heggade

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp