News Karnataka
Saturday, April 13 2024

Amit Shah re-elected as BJP Chief; Veterans give ceremony a miss

Photo Credit :

New Delhi: Amit Shah was unanimously elected as the Bharatiya Janata Party Chief for the second time on Sunday. His second tenure will end in 2019.

While Union Ministers, senior party leaders and workers attended the ceremony at the BJP headquarter in the national capital, Veteran leaders like L K Advani and M M Joshi remained conspicuously absent. BJP Leader Shatrughan Sinha too remained absent making way for several speculations.

Congratulating Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh said, “I have full faith that under his leadership, our party will achieve great success.”

Shah’s name for the post was proposed by Modi. Among others who have proposed Shah’s name are Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Anant Kumar and JP Nadda, M Venkaiah Naidu, besides BJP chief ministers Vasundhara Raje, Raghubar Das, Shivraj Singh Chauhan and others.

BJP Parliamentary Board is scheduled to meet on January 28 evening to welcome Shah into his new term. This will be first full term, which is for three years, for the close confidant of Modi.

Shah had taken over as the party chief during midway of Rajnath Singh’s term after Singh joined the government as the Home Minister in May 2014.

During Shah’s term as BJP President, the BJP came to power in Maharashtra, Haryana, Jharkhand and Jammu and Kashmir, but also suffered defeats in Delhi and Bihar assembly elections, triggering some rumblings in the party.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp