News Karnataka
Sunday, April 02 2023

Congress not to contest MLC elections in Bihar

Chintan Shivir
Photo Credit : IANS

Patna: The Congress on Thursday  June 9 decided not to contest the election for seven MLC seats in Bihar.

The decision was taken after a meeting of state leaders including Congress Legislature Party leader Ajit Sharma and state unit president Madan Mohan Jha.

“The number of Congress MLAs in Vidhan Sabha is not adequate. Hence, we have decided not to contest the MLC election,” Sharma said.

Jha said: “We have informed the political situation and current position of Congress party with the top leadership of the party.”

The Congress has 19 MLAs in the 243-member Assembly, whose members form the electoral college for the election of MLCs from the Assembly quota. One MLC seat requires the support of 31 MLAs.

Congress leaders, at present, claim that their party is not in Mahagathbandhan in Bihar, hence it is extremely difficult for them to arrange additional 12 votes.

The RJD has already announced it would contest on 3 MLC seats. The party had 76 MLAs in Bihar assembly and the Left’s 16 MLAs would support it. Even in recent days, the 5 MLAs of the AIMIM are also in close contact with RJD leaders.

The other four seats will go to the NDA where the JD-U and the BJP are contesting two seats each.

Following the decision of Congress, Pradhyuman Yadav who was expecting that Congress would field him, burst out against Sharma and Jha. He was supported by Khagaria MLA Chatrapati Yadav.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp