News Karnataka
Tuesday, April 16 2024

Bypoll: BJP wins Muzaffarnagar, Congress victorious in Deoband

Photo Credit :

Lucknow: BJP won the Muzaffarnagar seat after defeating the ruling Samajwadi Party, which also lost the Deoband seat to the Congress in two of the three by-elections in UP for which results were announced today, February 16.

The bypoll results are being viewed as crucial in the countdown to the Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh next year.

Speaking to media sources UP Chief Electoral Officer, Arun Singhal said, “Congress has won Deoband (Saharanpur), while BJP has won Muzaffarnagar seat. SP is leading in Bikapur (Faizabad), where counting is still underway”.

While BJP’s Kapil Dev Agarwal has won from the Muzffarnagar seat, Mavia Ali of Congress won the Deoband defeating SP candidate Meena Rana. SP’s Anand Sen Yadav is leading in Bikapur over his nearest rival RLD candidate Munna Singh Chauhan.

The by-elections were necessitated in Muzaffarnagar, Deoband and Bikapur due to the death of of SP MLAs Chitranjan Swaroop, Rajendra Singh Rana and Mitrasen Yadav last year. Gaurav Swaroop was the SP candidate from Muzaffarnagar, while Anandsen Yadav and Meena Rana were the party candidates from Bikapur and Deoband seat.

In 2012, Samajwadi Party had won the Muzaffarnagar assembly seat, but has now lost it to the BJP. The Muzaffarnagar parliamentary seat had gone to the BJP in the 2014 national election held months after the riots that left 60 dead, thousands displaced and reconfigured politics in the region.

The Samajwadi government accused BJP leaders of polarizing voters with inflammatory speeches and rumours.

To avoid any violence after the verdict, the local administration has banned victory marches in Muzaffarnagar.

The Samajwadi Party also lost the Deoband seat to the Congress. The ruling party took early leads as the counting of votes began in these seats, which are among the state’s most communally sensitive.

The Samajwadi Party has only retained Faizabad. By-elections were held on Saturday in the three seats to fill vacancies after the death of Samajwadi Party lawmakers.

By-polls were also held in Maharashtra, Karnataka, Punjab, Telangana, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh and Tripura. In Telangana, the TRS of Chief Minister Chandrasekhara Rao has won Narayankhed, which has mostly voted Congress in elections. In Karnataka, the BJP won two seats and the Congress took one.

In Punjab, the Shiromani Akali Dal won a walkover in Khadoor Sahib, which fell vacant after the Congress lawmaker quit in protest. The Congress and AAP didn’t contest here.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp