Bengaluru 29°C

Chandrababu Naidu Named Chief Ministerial Candidate for Andhra Pradesh

Chandrababu Naidu (2)

Vijayawada: TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu was elected as the NDA leader in the Andhra Pradesh legislative assembly on Tuesday.


During a meeting in Vijayawada attended by legislators from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Janasena, and the BJP, Naidu was unanimously chosen following a proposal by Janasena leader Pawan Kalyan, which was supported by state BJP president D Purandeswari. This decision established Naidu as the chief ministerial candidate.

Earlier in the day, Naidu had also been unanimously elected as the leader of the TDP legislative party, according to TDP leader K Atchen Naidu. Janasena founder Pawan Kalyan was elected as the party’s floor leader in the assembly.

Addressing the assembled legislators, Naidu stated, “With your support, I will be sworn in as the Chief Minister tomorrow. I extend my gratitude to all of you for this.” He also announced that Prime Minister Narendra Modi would attend the swearing-in ceremony. Naidu, who will be taking the oath as Chief Minister for the fourth time, mentioned that he sought cooperation from the Central government for the southern state, which was promised.

Naidu reaffirmed his commitment to making Amaravati the sole capital of Andhra Pradesh and vowed to complete the Polavaram Project. 

Reflecting on the recent elections, Naidu described the NDA’s sweeping victory as historic and unprecedented.

“I commend the five crore people of the state for their determination in securing its future. Our campaign focused solely on the message that the people and the state must triumph,” he remarked.

Naidu expressed that although he had overseen many elections, the 2024 polls were the most satisfying. This victory, he noted, has elevated the stature of NDA leaders from Andhra Pradesh in New Delhi.

The NDA, comprising the TDP, BJP, and Janasena, achieved a landslide victory in the recent simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, securing a commanding majority with 164 Assembly seats and 21 Lok Sabha seats.

Whatsapp Channel