News Karnataka
Saturday, April 13 2024

“Revenge of the Prince”: BJP Reacts as Congress Parts with Ahmed Patel’s Legacy

Photo Credit : News Karnataka

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is getting Gujarat’s Bharuch constituency, which is the legacy and bastion of veteran Ahmed Patel. This is being done as part of a seat-sharing agreement for the upcoming Lok Sabha election. According to BJP spokesperson Jaiveer Shergill, this is the “Prince” taking revenge. A little more than a year ago, Mr. Shergill left the Congress.

According to BJP’s Amit Malviya, who strongly criticized the Congress and the Gandhi family, Rahul Gandhi is attempting to erase Ahmed Patel’s legacy by giving away Bharuch and degrade the Gandhi family. He said, “…believes in use and throw.”

“One dynasty is more equal than the others in the Congress. Everyone knows of the differences between Rahul Gandhi and the late Ahmed Patel. Giving away Bharuch to AAP is Rahul Gandhi’s attempt to erase his legacy and humiliate the family. Posting an image of Ahmed Patel’s daughter’s X post, he wrote, “Gandhis believe in use and throw.” Mumtaz Patel apologized in an emotional post to the party cadre in the Bharuch district for not being able to retain the seat from which her father began his political career in 1976 by  contesting for local body elections.

“We sincerely apologize to our district cadre for our inability to form an alliance and win the Bharuch Lok Sabha seat. I’m sorry you’re disappointed. We will reorganize as a group for stronger Congress. With the hashtag “Bharuch ki beti (daughter of Bharuch),” Ms. Patel wrote, “We won’t let Ahmed Patel’s 45 years of legacy go in vain.”

Considered the Congress’s chief troubleshooter, Ahmed Patel represented the Gujarat constituency both in the state assembly and in Parliament. Mr. Patel, who was essentially employed in the backrooms, was called upon by the party in times of need until his death from COVID-19 in 2020.

The Opposition bloc INDIA, which has vowed to put up a strong resistance against the BJP in the upcoming general elections, has found seat-sharing to be a significant source of frustration.

On Saturday, an agreement was reached between the Congress and the AAP regarding a 4:3 seat-sharing formula for Delhi, as well as a joint fight by Gujarat, Haryana, Goa, and Chandigarh.

The Samajwadi Party of Akhilesh Yadav and the Congress have already reached an agreement, and the Congress will run for 17 seats in Uttar Pradesh, which sends the most MPs to the Lok Sabha.

Still, Bengal and Maharashtra are at a standstill. Eight seats in the western state remain to be decided by the Congress and Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena (UBT). The Trinamool Congress declared that they would run for every one of the state’s 42 seats in Bengal. According to sources, the Congress has been requesting at least five seats, and the TMC is only willing to give up two.

In the lead-up to the elections, the INDIA bloc—which was formed last year to oppose the BJP—lost two important members. Both Jayant Chaudhary’s Rashtra Lok Dal and Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) have sided with the BJP.

Read  More:

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp