News Karnataka
Monday, December 05 2022

Polls to 57 Rajya Sabha seats on June 10, result same day

Photo Credit :

New Delhi: The biennial poll for 57 Rajya Sabha seats will be held on June 10 and the counting of votes will be done on the same day, the Election Commission announced on Thursday May 12.

It said that the notification will be issued on May 27, last date for nomination is May 31, scrutiny will be held on June 1, polling is on June 10 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and the counting of votes will begin at 5 p.m. on the same day.

The term of office of 57 Rajya Sabha members elected from 15 states is due to expire from June to August. These comprise 11 from Uttar Pradesh, six each from Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu, five from Bihar, four each from Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Rajasthan, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, two each from Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Jharkhand, and Haryana, and one from Uttarakhand.

The Commission also said that Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 issued by it to be followed, wherever applicable, during the entire election process by all persons.

The Chief Secretaries of all 15 states have been directed to depute a senior officer to ensure that the extant instructions regarding Covid-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the election, the poll panel added.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp