News Karnataka
Saturday, July 02 2022

Kerala bypoll: Campaigning to end on May 29 in Thrikkakara - 2 min read

Kerala bypoll campaign
Photo Credit :

Thiruvananthapuram: The campaigning for the Thrikkakara bypoll to be held on May 31 will conclude on Sunday May 29 with the CPI-M-led LDF, Congress-led UDF, and the BJP-led NDA leaders camping in the constituency for the last-minute push.

The public campaign will end in the evening, and on Monday it will be a silent campaign before the elections on Tuesday. The results will be announced on June 3 (Friday).

While Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan is leading the Left campaign, leader of the Opposition V. D. Satheeshan is the leader for the UDF campaign. BJP State President K. Surendran is looking after the NDA campaign.

Former Chief Minister and Congress Working Committee member A. K. Antony charged up the campaign for UDF and blasted the Pinarayi Vijayan government.

This is the first direct election faced by the second Pinarayi Vijayan government after it came to power in May 2021. The election was necessitated following the passing away of Congress leader and MLA P. T. Thomas on December 22, 2021, at the Christian Medical College, Vellore where he was admitted.

The Congress-led UDF in a bid to retain the seat has fielded the widow of P. T. Thomas, Uma Thomas as the front’s candidate while the ruling Left front sprang a surprise by fielding an eminent cardiologist of a private hospital run by the Catholic Church, Dr. Jo Joseph.

The BJP-led NDA fielded party-state vice president and senior leader, A. N. Radhakrishnan for the seat. Being the last Sunday before the elections, all the three candidates were busy meeting the Sunday mass goers in the constituency and trying to meet the churchgoers.

See also  Kerala: Muslim League President Haider Ali Shihab Thangal dies

Uma Thomas while speaking to IANS said, “I am fully confident of a thumping victory and there is nothing short of a victory. I find that the good work done by my husband P.T. Thomas in the constituency and his memories will catapult me to victory.”

She said that the people of Thrikkakara are mature and they know whom to vote for and that she would win with a good majority.

The LDF candidate, Dr. Jo Joseph while speaking to IANS said, “Will win hundred per cent. The policies and programmes of the Pinarayi Vijayan government have given me the edge in the elections and we will wrest the seat.”

The NDA candidate and senior leader of the BJP, A. N. Radhakrishnan said, “This time the people of Thrikkakara will take a different route and we will win.”

Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our Podcast across platforms
AnchorAmazon MusicSpotifyGoogle PodcastsRadio PublicRSS

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

Subscribe Newsletter

Get latest news karnataka updates on your email.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp