News Karnataka
Tuesday, April 23 2024

KCR Faces Setback as Chevella MP Leaves BRS

Photo Credit : Google

Ranjith Reddy, a member of parliament from Chevella, left the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) on Sunday and joined the ruling Congress, dealing another setback to former Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao.

He announced his (unexpected but not unexpected) resignation on his official X account, citing “current political circumstances” as his reason. On the microblogging site, he additionally posted his resignation letter.

“I would like to convey my sincere appreciation for the party’s priceless opportunity to discuss and find solutions for the pressing problems affecting the people living in the former Vikarabad and Ranga Reddy Districts. In his letter of resignation to Mr. Rao, Mr. Reddy stated, “Your faith in my abilities has enabled me to effectively serve the constituents of Chevella, my parliamentary constituency.”

“I am sincerely thankful for your steadfast support throughout this journey. Unfortunately, due to the current political circumstances in the state of Telangana, I have come to the difficult decision to pursue an alternative path. It is with a heavy heart that I hereby submit my resignation from the BRS Party and relinquish my membership. I want to extend my deepest appreciation for the support and endorsement extended by the party during my tenure,” he said.

Hours after his resignation, Mr Reddy joined the Congress in the presence of Telangana Chief Minister Revanth Reddy and other senior party leaders.

K Chandrasekhar Rao, who is commonly known as KCR, has seen some of his party’s MPs switching over to other parties in the past few weeks.

Earlier on Saturday, BRS MP from Warangal Pasunoori Dayakar joined the ruling Congress.

Recently, BRS MPs from Zaheerabad and Nagarkurnool, BB Patil and P Ramulu respectively, had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

After losing the most recent Telangana assembly elections, the BRS has been in decline and has been finding it difficult to field candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Conversely, the BJP has been considering the induction of leaders from other parties due to a lack of candidates.

Just one day after joining the party, BB Patil from Zaheerabad was fielded. Days after his father, P Ramulu, quit from the KCR-led BRS, the BJP also nominated Bharat Prasad for the Nagarkurnool (SC reserved) seat.

Telangana will hold elections on May 13.

Read More

Corrupt will not be spared, warns PM Modi at Telangana rally

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp