News Karnataka
Friday, October 07 2022

Agartala: Rajiv Bhattacharjee named new Tripura BJP President

named new Tripura BJP President
Photo Credit : IANS

Agartala: BJP President J.P.Nadda on Thursday appointed party’s Tripura unit Vice President Rajiv Bhattacharjee as President of the state committee.

BJP national General Secretary Arun Singh, in a statement, announced the appointment of Bhattacharjee, 52, who will replace Chief Minister Manik Saha.

Saha, who became the BJP’s Tripura state president in January 2020, has been holding the party post even after assuming office of the Chief Minister on May 15, a day after Biplab Kumar Deb was removed from the top post by the central leaders without citing any reason.

Both Saha and Deb congratulated Bhattacharjee, who is close to Deb, who was also the state BJP President for five years before Saha.

The decision came a day after Saha and Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma held a key meeting in Guwahati on Wednesday with Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and central BJP leaders to chalk out the strategy for the Tripura polls, slated for early next year.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp