News Karnataka
Tuesday, May 30 2023

Throwball Premier League of UAE Throwball Grp kicks-off in Dubai

The Throwball Premier League of the  UAE Throwball Group kick off
Photo Credit : By Author

Dubai: The Throwball Premier League of the  UAE Throwball Group kicked-off at 8 am on Feb 5, 2022, with breakfast served for all. The teams were asked to line-up with their respective team flags. This was then followed by the welcome speech by Anvi Santosh Shetty and oath taking of the teams. Soon after this the first match between the ladies’ team kicked-off. After all teams had played one set of game the guest of honour Prashant Rai a vivid Kabaddi player was welcomed with a special dance performance. The organisers welcomed all the main sponsors and the team owners.

The prestigious TPL tournament was inaugurated by lighting of the lamp by the Owners and guests of honour. Prayers were offered to Ullas Menezes to whom this tournament was dedicated, which was followed by the National Anthem of the UAE and India. Sarvotham Shetty addressed the crowd and introduced all the Owners, Main sponsors and guest.

The organising team felicitated Prashant Rai, Savitha Nayak and Appi S. Salian by presenting them with a Memento, Shawl, and Fruit basket and thanked them for being a part of this prestigious tournament. All the guests thanked the Organising Committee for inviting them and for felicitating them. All the teams then had a photo session with the dignitaries. Towards the afternoon another guest of honour a renowned Actor and Bigg Boss Kannada winner Roopesh Shetty was welcomed with a Pili dance. The enthusiasm was clearly seen in the crowd as they saw their star walking towards the stage and performing on the stage. Shetty thanked the crowd and the organisers for the warm welcome.

Jovita D’souza along with her team managed the scheduling of the team entries into the court alongside DJ playing the theme song of the playing teams.

The following teams participated in the tournament:

Following teams participated in the tournament

The result of the tournament:

result of the tournament

Category Winner 1st Runner up: 2nd Runner up:
Men Ivory Tuskers Nanje Yachts All StarZ Acme Powerhouse
Ladies Bright Winders Ivory Tuskers Nanje Yachts All StarZ

In the electrifying final set of Men, Ivory Tuskers led by Anand Menezes beat Nanje Yachts All StarZ led by Richard to lift the prestigious TPL second edition Trophy 2022. Both teams fought the battle to lift the winning title and the fans of both sides supported as every point gained was celebrated with huge applause. In the final three-set match, the first set was won by Ivory Tuskers 15-10 and the second set by Nanje Yachts All StarZ 15- 11. The third set saw a nail-biting finish and Ivory Tuskers managed to snatch the title from Nanje Yachts All StarZ by 15-12.

In the Women’s Final, Bright Winders led by Doreen Alvares won the first two sets by 15- 7, and 15-14 setting a clear win against the Ivory Tuskers led by Sandya Vas. It was indeed a nail-biting fight amongst both the teams in the second set as Ivory Tuskers strived hard to take it to the third set but The Bright Winders with their strategy did not let it happen and emerged as the winners of the TPL. Bright Winders second time in a row have managed to keep the winner’s title to themselves.

During the prize distribution ceremony, Santosh Shetty and Sarvotham Shetty proposed a vote of thanks to all the Dignitaries, sponsors, referees, organizing committee, media personnel and all the teams who participated in the tournament.

All the managers, volunteers, referees, and media were gifted with hampers as a token of appreciation for their contribution towards TPL 2nd Edition.

The winning teams in both the Men’s and Ladies’ Tournament were awarded trophies, hampers & cash prizes by the dignitaries present on the stage in a glittering Prize Distribution Ceremony.

The following outstanding players of the tournament were presented with individual trophies:
Category Best All-rounder, Best Striker, Best Defender,
Men Alan Mendonca (Nanje Yachts All StarZ) Joyson D’souza (Ivory Tuskers) Ison Monteiro (Ivory Tuskers)
Ladies Shubha Kalkura (Bright Winders) Saleekha Shama (Bright Winders) Istha Shetty (Ivory Tuskers)

The tournament was enjoyed by every sportsperson and spectator who attended the Second Edition of the TPL Tournament 2022. The organizers and the volunteers did a wonderful job, and all the matches were played with good sportsman spirit and the day was full of fun and competition.

It was the day which created memories for all participants and spectators.

Read more:

Sahebaan UAE, Business and Professionals Meet in Dubai

Dubai release of Kannada Film Gurbi very successful

ILT20: MI Emirates defeat Dubai Capitals by eight wickets

ILT20: Dubai Capitals in seven-wicket victory over MI Emirates

ILT20: Sharjah Warriors-Dubai Capitals match dropped due to rain

Share this:
Media Release

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp