News Karnataka
Monday, December 04 2023

Vijayapura: 23 held for poll violence in district

Photo Credit : IANS

Vijayapura: The police in Karnataka’s Vijayapura district arrested 23 persons for indulging in violence during polling on Wednesday.

The violence was reported from Masabinala village under the Basavanabagavedi Assembly constituency.

According to the Election Commission, a group of villagers stopped the section officer’s vehicle carrying reserved Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and damaged two control units, two ballot units and three VVPATs.

The villagers also manhandled the section officer. The District Commissioner and Superintendent of Police rushed to the spot after receiving information about the attack.

BJP leader L.A. Ravisubramanya is locked in a tight contest in this constituency against Congress’ U.B. Venkatesh. Aramana Shanker of the JD(S) and Sathyalakshmi Rao of the Aam Aadmi Party are also in the fray.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp