News Karnataka
Friday, March 24 2023

Vijayapura: Cong to announce first list by Feb end, says Raireddy

Photo Credit : By Author

Vijayapura: Claiming that the election committee of the Congress has already conducted first round of meeting to finalise the name of Congress candidates for the coming Assembly polls, Former Minister and party’s ‘Praja Dhwani’ Yatra Committee President Basavaraj Raireddy has said that the first list of candidate would be possibly announced by February end.

Informing this at a press conference on Wednesday January 25, he said that the committee would hold a second round of meeting on February 2, and the list would be sent to party high command to announce the list of candidates.

Admitting that announcements of the candidates in advance will give more time for the candidates campaign, he however said that the party has to consider various factors before finalising the candidates.

“There are many factors that play a role in selection of the candidates such as winning ability, strength of the Opposition candidate etc. Some time, the party takes more time in announcing the candidates as they have to consider many aspects,” he said.

Referring to the ambitious ‘Praja Dhwani Bus Yatra’ he said that as per the direction of the All India Congress Committed Chief Mallikarjun Kharge, the party has decided to launch the Yatra in all 224 Assembly segments of the State from February 3.

The party has formed two committees headed by Former Chief Minister and Leader of the Opposition Siddaramaiah and Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President D. K. Shivakumar, he said.

“Both leaders along with other prominent leaders of the party would be touring the State. While the North Karnataka region would be headed by Siddaramaiah, the Southern areas would be covered by Shivakumar,” he informed.

He said that Siddaramaiah would start his tour from Basavakalyan in Bidar District to cover 182 Assembly segments of NK region.

Raireddy said that Siddaramaiah would hold the rallies in Sindagi, Indi and Nagathan Assembly segments on February 11 and he will continue his campaign next day where the rallies would be conducted in Babaleshwar, Devarahipparagi and Basavanabagewadi Taluks.

“The dates for Vijayapura and Muddebihal tour would be announced later as Siddaramaiah will be attending the Budget session”, he said.

District President, Raju Algur, Chief Whip of Legislative Council, Prakash Rathod, Former MP I. G. Sanadi, Leader, Abdul Hamid Mushrif and others were present.

Share this:
Firoz Rozindar

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp