News Karnataka
Friday, December 08 2023

Vijayapura: Names of last time defeaters found in Cong 2nd list

Photo Credit : By Author

Vijayapura: Two more candidates of District and four of Bagalakote District got ticket in the second list announced by the Congress on Thursday April 6.

For City, the Congress has offered a ticket to Abdul Hamid Mushrif and for Nagathan SC Reserved Constituency, Vittal Katakadonga has been given a ticket.

Both candidates had contested in the last Assembly election but had lost. While Mushrif lost against BJP’s Basanagouda Patil Yatnal, and Katakadonga came third. Devananad Chavan of the JD (S) won while Gopal Karjol of the BJP came second.

With two more candidates announced for Vijayapura, the party will have to announce candidates for two more constituencies; Sindagi and Devarahipparagi.

Of the total eight Assembly constituencies, the party has so far announced candidates for six constituencies. The party has already given ticket to M. B. Patil from Bagaleshwar, Shivanand Patil from Basavanabagewadi, C. S. Nadagouda from Muddebihal and Yeshwantraigouda Patil from Indi in the first list itself.

For Bagalakote the Party has announced tickets for three constituencies. From Mudhol SC Reserved Constituency, the Party has given the ticket to Former Minister, R. B. Timmapur, Former MLA, J. T. Patil has been given ticket to contest from Bilagi, Former MLA H. Y. Meti to contest from Bagalakote City while B. B. Chimmanakatti to contest from Badami which is presently represented by Leader of the Opposition, Siddaramaiah.

Bagalakote District has seven Assembly constituencies, of which the party has so far announced ticket for six seats. In the first list, the party offered ticket to Former MLA Vijayanand Kashappanavar from Hundund and sitting MLA Anand Nyamgouda from Jamakhandi.

The party is yet to announce the candidates for Terdal constituencies which is proving to be a tough nut for the party as many aspirants. The local leaders apparently are against the party giving ticket to Former MLA Umashree as they think that the party should offer ticket this time to local aspirants as Umsharee does not belong to Terdal.

Similar issue of outsider versus local has emerged in Devarahipparagi Constituency of Vijayapura District after the name of Former MLC S. R. Patil of Bagalakote District cropped up in the list of aspirants.

The local aspirants have been urging the party High Command not to offer a ticket to Patil as he has no connection with the Devarahipparagi.

They even held a joint press conference to convey their message.

The Party is expected to finalise the names for remaining constituencies of the both districts shortly.

Share this:
Firoz Rozindar

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp