News Karnataka
Monday, March 27 2023

20 candidates withdraw names from K’taka MLC polls

Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The poll officials announced on Friday November 26 that there are 91 candidates in the fray now for the Karnataka Legislative Council election set for December, with 20 candidates withdrawing their candidacies, including H. U. Isaq of JD (S) from Kodagu.

Due to the retirement of sitting members, the Karnataka Legislative Council will hold a biennial election on December 10 from 20 Local Authorities’ Constituencies for 25 seats.

The deadline for withdrawing one’s candidacy was on Friday November 26.

Except for JD (S)’ Isaq from Kodagu, all of the 20 candidates who withdrew their candidacy were independents.

According to sources, four candidates had withdrawn from Dakshina Kannada and Vijayapura districts each while Belgaum had three, Shivamogga had two, and one each from Dharwad, Tumakuru, Bengaluru, Raichur, Uttara Kannada, Mysuru, and Kodagu.

With Isaq withdrawing his candidature from Kodagu, the JD (S), which had fielded only seven candidates, now has only six in the fray which includes N. Appajigowda (Mandya), Anil Kumar R. (Tumakuru), C. N. Manjegowda (Mysuru), Vakkaleri Ramu (Kolar), H. M. Ramesh Gowda (Bengaluru Rural), Suraj Revanna (Hassan).

The election is necessary since the terms of 25 MLCs will end on January 5, 2022. The counting of votes will take place on December 14.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp