News Karnataka
Thursday, December 01 2022

Bengaluru International Film Festival from February 22

Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The state government has decided to organize 10th edition of Bengaluru International Film Festival (BIFFES) from February 22 to March 1, 2018. The specialty of the 10th edition of BIFFES is instituting life time achievement award that carries Rs 10 lakh cash.

“We have decided to organize the BIFFES, including valedictory function, in Bengaluru. The valedictory function was held in Mysuru last year,’’ Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said.

The festival is being organized on behalf of Government of Karnataka by Karnataka Chalanachitra Academy and Department of Information and Public Relations. The opening event will be held in the presence of National and International delegates, film makers and film celebrities in Bengaluru on February 22, 2018.

Like in the previous editions, competitive sections for Asian, Indian and Kannada Cinema will continue with handsome cash prizes. The special theme of the festival is “Human Rights and Social Justice.’’

The screenings will be held at 11 screens – PVR Cinemas – ORION MALL, Rajajinagar, Bengaluru.

The 10th edition will have different sections as mentioned below. Selection of films will be made by expert committees.

1. Cinema of the World

2. Retrospectives

3. Country Focus

4. Grand Classics

5. Homages & Remembrances

6. FIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics) award winners

7. Network for promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) award winners

8. Bio Pics

It is expected that around 200 films – from about 50 countries will be screened under these categories. The festival will also host various forums for academic interactions on filmmaking & film appreciation like seminars, workshops, master classes etc., for the benefit of film professionals, discerning audiences and students on different aspects of cinema.

Delegate registration:

Admission to the festival theatres is strictly by registration. This is mandated by the norms specified by International Federation of Film Festivals and also Govt., of India. No Passes will be issued other than Media. Separate communication will follow for the commencement of delegate registration. Online registration facility would also be made available.

Delegate fee: Rs. 600 for general public, and Rs 300 for students, Film Society members, Senior citizens and KFCC film family.

“We invite filmmakers, film fraternity, film critics & International and National film distribution agencies/companies, cine loving public to participate in this 10th edition of our film festival. We sincerely hope the film lovers will utilize this opportunity to enroll as delegates and enjoy the contemporary world cinema and the classics,’’ said S.V. Rajendra Singh Babu, chairman, Karnataka Chalanachitra Academy.


Best Indian Film in Competition, Best Kannada Film in Competition and best amongst the popular entertainment cinema in Kannada and Best Asian Film (amongst selection) are the awards’ category. A new category of award for the Life time achievement is being introduced from this year.

BIFFES Organizing Committee

An organizing Committee has been formed for the effective conduct of BIFFES. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is heading this committee in the capacity of Honorary Chairman. The Committee among others includes Minister for Bengaluru Development K.J. George, Minister for Public Works and in charge of Mysuru District Dr. Mahadevappa, Minister of State for Tourism Priyanka Kharge, P. Manivannan, Secretary, Information and Public Relations Department, S.V. Rajendra Singh Babu, Chairman, Karnataka Chalanachitra Academy, Dr. Jayamala, renowned artist and Member, Legislative Council, Sa. Ra. Govindu, President, Karnataka Film Chamber of Commerce, Noted film Directors Dr. Girish Kasaravalli, P. Seshadri, Pawan Kumar, Celebrated Artist Sri Puneet Raj Kumar, Sri Cha. Ha. Raghunath (Journalist), Dr. P.S. Harsha, Director of Information and Public Relations Department, N. Vidya Shankar, Artistic Director of BIFFES and H.B.Dinesh, Registrar, Karnataka Chalanachitra Academy, as the member Secretary.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp