News Karnataka
Sunday, April 14 2024

BJP wins Hebbal, Devadurga; Cong bags Bidar

Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The BJP bagged Hebbal and Devadurga constituencies in the Assembly by polls, while the Congress had to be happy with just Bidar.

The counting for the three Assembly segments began on Tuesday at 8 am.

The by-elections were held in these three Assembly segment after the seats fell empty following death of sitting MLAs.

Congress candidate Rahim Khan defeated BJP candidate Prakash Khandre in Bidar constituency by huge big margin.

In Devadurga, BJP candidate Shivanagouda Nayak, who secured 72,645 votes, defeated his Congress rival Rajashekhar Nayak by 16,877 votes.

In Hebbal, BJP candidate Y V Narayanaswamy defeated Congress candidate Rehman Sharief.

Historically, Hebbal remained to be a Congress stronghold, while the BJP had retained Bidar post 2013 elections.


Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp