News Karnataka
Saturday, December 09 2023

HC upholds dismissal of 7 Kollegal BSP councillors

BSP councillors
Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The State High Court has upheld the dismissal of seven Kollegal City Municipal Council members from BSP. The Court has dismissed the appeals Council members from BSP, who defied the party’s whip.

The members were disqualified as councillors under Sections 3 and 4 of the Karnataka Local Authorities (Prohibition of Defection) Act by the Deputy Commissioner of the Chamarajanagar District. However, the members challenged their removal through a writ petition before a single judge bench in 2021. When their dismissal was upheld by the court, they filed an appeal before the division bench, which again upheld the verdict.

Gangamma, L. Nagamani, , Nagadundaramma, Nasir Sharif, Pavithra, Prakash, and Ramakrishna N. were the dismissed members.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Editor's Pick

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp