News Karnataka
Monday, March 04 2024

KCAB declares captain, vice-captain of K’taka Nagesh Trophy Team

KCAB declares captain vicecaptain of Ktaka Nagesh Trophy Team
Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The Karnataka Cricket Association for the Blind (KCAB) in association with the Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled announced the captain and vice-captain of the Karnataka Men’s Cricket team for the Blind ahead of their Group B League Stage Matches of Nagesh Trophy which gets underway from Dec 04, 2023, at Dehradun, Uttarakhand.

Karnataka Team will play a total of 4 League matches against Maharashtra, Pondicherry, Delhi and Uttarakhand. The top 2 teams of Group B will move into the next round. Javare Gowda (B2) continues to be the Captain and  Prakasha J was appointed as the vice–captain of the Team.

Speaking on the announcement ahead of the departure of teams to Dehradun the General Secretary of Karnataka Cricket Association for the Blind(KCAB) Chandrakanth said “The players have prepared well and the State Selection Board has selected the best talent from the selection trials. The boys played well last year and I am confident of winning the Nagesh Trophy this year.

The chairman of the Cricket Association for the Blind in India(CABI) Dr Mahantesh G Kivadasannavar wished all the teams the best and said “Nagesh Trophy is the best platform to showcase the cricketing skills of the Visually Impaired Cricketers.

The Selection Committee of CABI will be watching the players and wishes to find new talent who will be selected to the Indian Team for the upcoming tournaments.”

Earlier this month, the matches for Group E were held in Jammu with 4 teams. Jammu & Kashmir topped the Group E and moved to the next round. Karnataka will play their first match on December 05, 2023, against the Host Uttarakhand at Doon Baluuni Cricket Academy Dehradun.

The 5th edition had the joint winners (Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka) due to the rain. Odisha has won the Nationals once while Andhra Pradesh had emerged victorious in the finals of the tournament 3 times.

Nagesh Trophy was launched in memory of the Late Shri SP Nagesh, Founder President, of the Cricket Association for the Blind in India and Founder Trustee, of Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled. The launch of the tournament brought together the entire blind cricket community into one huge platform, by creating a milestone in blind cricket history.

Karnataka Men’s Squad for IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy Men’s National T20 Cricket Tournament for the Blind 2023 -24:
B1 Category Players (Totally Blind)
1. Sharath B N – Bangalore Rural
2. Gudadappa Arikere – Koppal
3. Basavaraj M Hullenavar – Belagavi
4. Krishnamurti – Chitradurga
5. Srinath – Bangalore rural
B2 Category Players (Players who can see up to 2 Meters)
6. Lokesha – Koppala
7. Javare Gowda B (Captain) – Ramanagara
8. Bhaskar K – Bangalore Rural
9. Abhi A S – Mysore
B3 Category Players (Players who can see up to 6 Meters)
10.Prakasha Jayaramaiah (Vice-Captain) – Ramanagara
11. Sunil R – Chikkamagaluru
12. Sai Krishna M – Bangalore Urban
13. Husen – Koppal
14. Thayappa – Bangalore urban
Coach – Asif Basha S

KCAB declares captain vicecaptain of Ktaka Nagesh Trophy Team

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp