News Karnataka
Sunday, June 04 2023

Latest EVMs to be introduced in seven Assembly constituencies

Photo Credit :

m3evnBengaluru: The Election Commission is set to introduce latest M-3 electronic voting machines (EVMs) in seven Assembly constituencies in Bengaluru Central. This is the first time the Election Commission introducing the latest EVMs in the country.

As many as 2,710 balloting units, 2,260 control units in the latest M-3 and 2,350 VVPATs will be deployed across Rajarajeshwarinagar, Shivajinagar, Shanthinagar, Gandhinagar, Rajajinagar, Chamarajpet and Chickpet constituencies.

“The M-3 machines will be deployed across India for the 2019 general elections. Bengaluru constituencies will become the first to use it as part of a pilot project,” Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar media persons here on Wednesday.

The CEO said the M-3 EVMs have arrived and first-level checks have been conducted already.

When asked why Bengaluru was chosen for the pilot project, he said, “Bengaluru is the IT city and the latest EVMs are manufactured here (by BEL). Also, it is easy to supervise since the machines are being used for the first time.” While most things between the currently used M-2 EVMs and the latest are similar, he said M-3 will be lighter and sleek. “In the current M-2 machines, 4 balloting units (to accommodate 64 candidates) could be connected whereas in M-3, 24 balloting units (to accommodate 384 candidates) can be connected.”

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohan City Corp

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp