News Karnataka
Sunday, July 03 2022

MLC nominations likely on May 23, BJP undecided on BSY’s son - 3 min read

Photo Credit :

Bengaluru: The political parties in Karnataka are likely to announce the list of candidates on Monday May 23 for the biennial election to the Karnataka Legislative Council.

The last date of submissions of filing nominations is Tuesday for seven vacant seats in the Council. The election will be held on June 3. The election was necessitated as the term of office of seven members is going to expire on June 14.

National parties ruling BJP and opposition Congress have failed to come to consensus on candidates. The tug of war in the Congress between State President D. K. Shivakumar and leader of Opposition Siddaramaiah have come into the open.

Party sources in the Congress said that both have sent their own list of candidates to the high command. Whereas in BJP, the party is yet to decide on the issue of ticket to former Chief Minister B. Y. Vijayendra as Yediyurappa’s sworn enemies within the party are opposing him by saying that it encourages family politics and creates a new power center in the State.

Regional party JD (S) leaders have left the matter to the discretion of former Prime Minister H. D. Deve Gowda.

The Congress leaders Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah are divided over issuing the ticket to former opposition leader in Council S. R. Patil. Siddaramaiah maintains that he is Lingayat from north Karnataka and it would help the party. Whereas Shivakumar is demanding that the opportunity should be given to any other leader from the community. Meanwhile, Rajya Sabha member Mallikarjun Kharge is also actively involved in the process and is demanding a ticket for his supporter Tippanna Kamakanur.

Meanwhile, Margaret Alva, senior Congress leader has demanded the high command to give an opportunity to Christian candidates this time under the minority quota.

See also  Jill Biden meets Ukrainian First Lady on surprise visit

The BJP is divided over allocating the ticket to Yediyurappa’s son Vijayendra. The party is taking time as the decision will have a direct impact on the participation of Yediyurappa in upcoming assembly elections.

Yediyurappa wants to anoint his son to a prominent Cabinet position after getting him elected as MLC. He wants to ensure his son plays a major role in the upcoming Assembly elections. The party fears that Yediyurappa will once again hijack the party through his son.

The elections will be held for the seven vacant seats in the Karnataka Legislative Council between 9.00 am to 4.00 pm on June 3. The process of counting of votes will also be completed on the same day. May 27 is the last day to take back the nominations.

BJP MLC and former DCM Lakshman Sangappa Savadi, Congress MLC’s Ramappa Timmapur, Allam Veerabhadrappa, JD (S) MLC H. M. Ramesh Gowda, Congress MLC Veena Achaiah, JD(S) MLC K. V. Narayanaswamy and BJP MLC Lehar Singh are retiring on June 14.

Going by the number of MLA’s in the Legislative Assembly, experts say that the ruling BJP will further strengthen its presence in the council. The party is expected to win four seats, Congress two seats and JD(S) will manage to retain one seat.

Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our Podcast across platforms
AnchorAmazon MusicSpotifyGoogle PodcastsRadio PublicRSS

Visit 7Jackpots and find the best online casinos in India! Play the most popular casino games for real money!

Find the best odds at 10Cric and ipl betting 2021! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

Subscribe Newsletter

Get latest news karnataka updates on your email.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp