News Karnataka
Saturday, February 24 2024

Nrupatunga award for novelist S.L. Bhyrappa

Photo Credit :

byrappaBengaluru: Kannada Sahitya Parishat (KSP) has chosen novelist S.L. Bhyrappa for the prestigious Nrupatunga Award for 2017.

The award is instituted by the BMTC after the 8th century Kannada king-poet Nrupatunga, who wrote Kavirajamarga, the earliest available work on rhetoric, poetics, and grammar in Kannada.

A jury headed by KSP president Manu Baligar selected Prof. Bhyrappa for the award, which carries a purse of Rs. 7 lakh and a citation.

Prof. Bhyrappa has been the bestselling novelist in Kannada for over five decades and his works have been translated in various Indian languages. His novels Gruhabhanga and Daatu have been translated into 14 major languages of India.

He is the recipient of the Padmashri, Sahitya Akademi fellowship, Saraswathi Samman, Sahitya Akademi, Nadoja, and Pampa awards.

Ramalingeshwara, C. Nandini and Shanti K. Appanna have been chosen for the Mayura Varma Literary Award, which carries a purse of Rs. 25,000 and citation said, V.C. Channe Gowda, honorary secretary, KSP.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Find the best odds at 10Cric and IPL Betting 2023! Signup today and get up to a 100% deposit bonus.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp