News Karnataka
Monday, April 22 2024

Mangaluru: District Administration celebrates Kannada Rajyotsava

District Administration celebrates Kannada Rajyotsava
Photo Credit : R Bhat

Mangaluru: The Kannada Rajyotsava was celebrated at Nehru Maidan on Tuesday November 1 by the District Administration. Minister of Kannada, Culture, and the Energy Department, V. Sunil Kumar hoisted the flag for the occasion.

“It is our responsibility to remember all those who fought for the unification of Karnataka. For the development of this State, our government has devised several schemes. The Viveka school scheme is put in place to give Kannada schools the basic facilities they need,” said the Minister.

Speaking further he said, “The construction of 275 classrooms at a cost of Rs. 39.30 Crore is approved for this project. 27 government schools will get a total of Rs. 27 Crore for development funding through the Amritshale scheme. Over 27 schools in the primary state that Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat chose to implement smart classes have already started.”

“Over the last five years, our government has released a grant of Rs. 21 Crore under the border area development scheme. Under the same scheme, a grant of Rs. 50 lakh is awarded to establish the Kaiyyara Kinhanna Rai Memorial. A grant of Rs. 30 lakh has been approved for the Rashtrakavi Manjeshwar Govind Pai research book. In 1995, the last book was published. His research articles are becoming more in demand. Reprints will therefore be made soon,” he said.

He further explained that the Swami Vivekananda youth self-help group will encourage self-employment and financial activities. “Each gram panchayat will form two self-help groups as a result of this, and each group will receive a grant of Rs. 1 lakh and a bank loan up to Rs. 5 lakh. In Dakshina Kannada, 45 self-help groups have already been formed,” he added.

Sunil Kumar also said that in the Dakshina Kannada District, there is a huge demand for theatre. The district theatre project has been pushed to the side for a number of reasons. “At a cost of Rs. 14 Crore, a new plan is now being prepared,” he added.

Over 20 institutions and as many as 34 achievers received the district-level Rajyotsava award.
MLAs Vedavyas Kamath, Dr. Bharat Shetty, U. T. Khader, Umanath Kotian, BJP MP Nalin Kumar Kateel, Legislative Council MLAs Pratap Simha Naik, Harish Kumar, Mangaluru Mayor Jayananda Anchan, Deputy Mayor Poornima and others were present.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

To get the latest news on WhatsApp